iMac Ram

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Duch, Feb 23, 2009.

  1. Duch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    #1
    I am looking at purchasing a 20" iMac with 1 gig of ram. I will be looking to upgrade the RAM, and have 2 options.
    option 1. buy 2 gig stick for $40 and have a total of 3 gigs
    option 2. buy 1 gig stick for $25 and have a total of 2 gigs

    I am wondering if it is alright to mix brands of ram, and sizes?
     
  2. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #2
    it's not ideal, but it'll work fine. there is a bit of performance gain from having matched pairs (same size and same manufacturer). the performance gain is arguably negligible.

    Get the 2GB stick.
     
  3. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Unless you're doing something memory intensive (i.e. benchmarks) there's little to no difference in speed from matched memory. I recommend that you have more memory before matched memory, and that the larger capacity ram stick is in the first slot.
     
  4. Duch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
  5. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    I don't have an imac, so this is a guess: i believe the RAM modules in the imac are "stacked", one on top of the other... maybe he means the "bottom" one.
     
  6. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Actually, the ram is in an inline (side by side) formation. I forget which side is Slot 0 and which is Slot 1 (IIRC that's how they're labeled), but the Slot 0 should have the larger stick of ram for performance purposes.
     
  7. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #7
    moral of the story: never listen to people who guess.
     
  8. Mr. Giver '94 macrumors 68000

    Mr. Giver '94

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Yeah I'd actually wait until the new model gets released....
     
  9. Duch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    #9
    The iMac is not for me, but for my sister, as she needs a new computer. I am sure she wouldn't notice the difference of a new vs old computer, so I am not worried about purchasing a new iMac for her. (it is actually trading my old unibody macbook for an iMac.)
     
  10. Duch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    #10
    Does it matter if I get 667mhz ram, or do I need 800? the iMac was purchased in oct of 08.
     
  11. Duch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    #12
    If the iMac was for me, I would put in 4, but my sister would never go near that amount. I am just putting in a bit more, because there is an open slot. :D. My Macbook Pro has 4:D.
     
  12. harry454 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #13
    you can get 4 gb for $40 from OWC aka macsales.com
     
  13. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #14
    Your mac will run all of it's memory at the speed of the slowest unit. Get 800Mhz ram if that's what is required, or your performance will decrease.
     
  14. PuckDaddy macrumors regular

    PuckDaddy

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #15
    the difference now between a 2gb stick and a 4gb kit is small

    one you've installed the RAM, click on the Apple > ABOUT THIS MAC > more info > memory
     

Share This Page