imac ram

Discussion in 'iMac' started by skcrane, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. skcrane macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    dayton, oh
    #1
    I was looking at the price of ram from apple $400 upgrade for 8gb (2x4gb) and $1000 for 16gb. I saw 16bg kit for imac 2010 for $549 at mac mall I believe so for the price aftermarket seems to be the way to go. My questions are

    1) is it hard to put ram in a imac

    2) is it worth upgrading to 16gb for that price since I was willing to pay $400 for 8gb just to max it out.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    1. Yes, tutorial

    2. I would buy it with the stock 2x2GB and then buy 2x4GB from OWC for 280$. That makes it 12GB. However, 12GB might be an overkill for you though
     
  3. 2 Owls macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    #3
    I upgraded my ram on my intel core 2 duo, its really easy, just a little bit at the bottom of the display to remove then you pull the tab and the old ram comes out and you replace it with the new, press it home and thats it, quite surprised how easy it was.
     
  4. skcrane thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    dayton, oh
    #4
    I am getting a i7 refurb from apple can I run 12gb in the quad core i7, I would have the stock 4gb and 2 4gb modules.
     
  5. skcrane thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    dayton, oh
    #5
    actually nu ram via owc memory has 8gb for $228 that is what I was going to get and if it is possible will add to the 4gb stock there and have 12gb good idea but is that possible.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    You can do that but NuRAM is 1066MHz meaning that all modules will then operate at 1066MHz instead of 1333MHz
     
  7. skcrane thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    dayton, oh
    #7
    the refurb mac i7 uses 1066 already so that should not be a problem correct and by the way thank you for the info.
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    Ahh, yeah, my bad, was thinking about the new ones :eek: It uses 1066MHz RAM so it's not an issue
     
  9. skcrane thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    dayton, oh
    #9
    thank you so much I like your 12gb idea I have the ram any ways and they will only give me $50 for it so I might as well get use out of it. thanks for the info you guys are quite helpful
     

Share This Page