iMac really slow. Where can I get an SSD installed?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by streetfoldsfive, Feb 22, 2016.

  1. streetfoldsfive macrumors 6502

    streetfoldsfive

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #1
    Hey all!

    So my Late 2012 27" iMac has be getting really slow. It's the 1TB hybrid version with an i7, 8GB of RAM, and the 2GB graphics card.

    I've come to the conclusion the only thing that could possibly be bringing it to a crawl while doing basic 5 layer work in PS is the hard drive. I also can't figure a way to get PS on the SSD.

    So my question is where can I go to get an SSD installed? I don't want to do it myself, and want to find a place that's quality and reasonable. Anyone have experience doing it/what it cost them?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cyclingplatypus macrumors 6502a

    cyclingplatypus

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    You should really look at that 8GB of RAM - that is definitely a bottleneck when it comes to speed.
     
  3. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #3
    Hybrid? Do you mean that you have the fusion drive in your iMac?
    That is not technically a hybrid, which would imply a hard drive that includes flash memory (within the same device), as a method to increase speed.
    A fusion drive has two physical drives, one small SSD, and a much larger spinning hard drive. Both are used as a single virtual volume.
     
  4. FreemanW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Location:
    The Real Northern California
    #4
    Get back to us when you've bumped the memory to 16GB or 24GB and it is still s l o w
     
  5. streetfoldsfive thread starter macrumors 6502

    streetfoldsfive

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #5
    With just photoshop and Chrome open I only hit 6GB.
    Should also be noted that my OS is on the SSD and it boots up incredibly slow. Like I have to wait 5 minutes before it becomes usable.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 22, 2016 ---

    With just photoshop and Chrome open I only hit 6GB.
    Should also be noted that my OS is on the SSD and it boots up incredibly slow. Like I have to wait 5 minutes before it becomes usable.
     
  6. cyclingplatypus macrumors 6502a

    cyclingplatypus

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    We are telling you where you have a problem - 8GB of RAM is a problem. It is also a more economical fix than finding someone to install an SSD for you. If you really want an SSD then buy an enclosure and boot from it it but at the end of the day, while you may see some increase in speed the fact will remain that you still have 8GB of RAM and you will bottleneck.
     
  7. streetfoldsfive thread starter macrumors 6502

    streetfoldsfive

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #7
    I'm just confused as to why activity manager says the ram inst bottle necking. Shouldn't 8gb be enough to do light ps work? Especially when it's the only program open?

    I'm not doubting you, just confused.
     
  8. FreemanW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Location:
    The Real Northern California
    #8
    I've a late 2012, 3.4 GHz Core i7, GTX680MX, and 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3. Rarely, but every once in a while, I see a beachball.

    More RAM never hurt anything. :)
     
  9. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
  10. Starfia macrumors 6502

    Starfia

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    #10
    Hey, streetfoldsfive – I don't mean to nay-say, but I'm as skeptical as the others here. In my experience and based on everything I've heard, the Fusion Drive almost always provides near-Flash performance. I'm using a 27" late-2012, 1TB Fusion Drive-based iMac as well. If my iMac really was "really slow," (it's definitely not been so far, and I'm a frequent user of hard-hitting apps like Pixelmator, Blender, Logic, Final Cut, Motion, et cetera), I'd be considering other possible culprits than the Fusion Drive until I had some evidence that it was suffering some kind of ailment. RAM is one thing, and checking for any other processor- or memory-hogging activities would be a second one. I do use 16GB of RAM – something I think I'm glad about – and if that's a possibility, RAM is much easier and cheaper to buy and install in these models than an SSD.

    Sorry if you've already worked through all that – I don't think I have an answer to your actual question of where to have an SSD installed if you know that's what you want. Or, you could just store your PS files on an external USB 3.0 or Thunderbolt SSD and lose very little in the way of performance.
     
  11. tyche macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #11
    I'm not convinced adding more RAM will fix anything. If you're saying it takes 5 mins to boot your iMac into a usable state, there are issues. OS X is not a closed system so it's impossible to say what exactly has been installed over the years - startup items, extensions, background processes, etc, etc.

    What I would do is backup my HDD using Carbon Copy Cloner to an external drive (backup your personal data to another drive as an extra precaution. Then I would wipe the iMac drive and do a clean OS installation with no restore of time machine or anything and get it patched up nicely. Then see how behaves. If it's still slow, it could point to a failing HDD. If it boots very fast and standard installed apps run good, I would begin re-installing the software I need and copy over my personal files.
     
  12. Hirakata macrumors 6502

    Hirakata

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #12
    I agree with this. Before doing the steps above though, simply create a new user and see if things run slowly under that new user.
     
  13. bent christian Suspended

    bent christian

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    #13
    This is probably not a RAM issue. 8GB is fine for light PS work. If you max out a 6GB and memory pressure is still green, you are good. The slow boot is a concerning. A Fusion drive gives priority to the OS, and as I m sure you know, boot times should be less than ten seconds. I would try. Have you checked the speeds of the drive?
     
  14. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #14
    Your hard drive could be dying basically slowing the whole system down, as you say if you aren't using the RAM more won't make any difference.
     

Share This Page