iMac Retina 5K Late 2015 display glitch

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iRaynor SK, Dec 12, 2016.

  1. iRaynor SK macrumors 6502

    iRaynor SK

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Location:
    Banská Bystrica, Slovak Republic
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm experiencing this issue, as shown on this Youtube video:



    It happened two times on my iMac

    Model is iMac Retina 5K Late 2015 with R9 M395X graphics.

    I didn't upgrade RAM (if someone asks) but I'm waiting for 16 GB upgrade kit (iMac 5K certified).

    Thanks

    EDIT: I'm using macOS Sierra 10.12.1
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Sierra seems to have graphic issues, so the odds are pretty good that it may be that. I recommend backing up your system and downgrading.
     
  3. iRaynor SK thread starter macrumors 6502

    iRaynor SK

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Location:
    Banská Bystrica, Slovak Republic
    #3
    My iMac came with Sierra, I got it before week.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    If you owned an older version of OS X previously it should be in the MAS and since the 5k was running El Cap before, you'll not run into issues with that version.
     
  5. twinkletwinkle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Location:
    Leeds
    #5
    I have this same problem in my late 2015 iMac 27 inch. When I shutdown my iMac it shows similar display glitch as shown in video. I am on latest mac OS sierra.
     
  6. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #6
    I have no issues when I shut down my Late 2015 iMac (also running Sierra), but even if I did it wouldn't overly bother me if all that happened is that you get some screen weirdness before it shuts down - it's hardly a major problem :)
     
  7. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    I see it off and on since going to Sierra when I shut down. Seems to happen more often if I turn my second monitor off before I power down. I use my iMac daily for video-intensive tasks and there is no issues so I do not believe it's failing hardware but something with the OS.
     
  8. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #8
    I've seen many threads/reports of this and it seems to be a Sierra issue (known issue) and many people anticipate an OS fix...eventually.

    I see it randomly. Not worried.
     
  9. MinEderPlayz macrumors 6502a

    MinEderPlayz

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #9
    I have seen it a few days ago for the first time after installing the Duet Display app to use my iPad as a second display. I set the utility to not automatically run on startup, and I have noticed that it only appeared when Duet was running prior to shutdown. So it appears to be software related, a bug with how monitors are handled I suppose.
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    for me, it helped shaped my decision not to upgrade to Sierra. I'm happy with El cap, seems stable enough at this point.

    I'd rather not deal with poorly written drivers.
     
  11. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #11
    I generally now wait for the .2 or .3 release before I upgrade.
     
  12. cl516 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #12
    This has happened to me maybe 2-3 times on my 27" late 2015 iMac 4.0ghz i7 which arrived last week. Sierra pre-installed. I was unable to reproduce it, and it only happened on Shut Down. But now as my fresh re-install of all my software is getting finished, problem seems to have gone away for now. I noticed after using Diskwarrior, overall smoothness of machine was much better, but I'm not techy enough to know if that's related.
     
  13. RedlegsFan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #13
    This just happened to me last night on my new iMac, as I shut it down. I downloaded the latest Sierra update and then instead of doing a restart, as was required, I just shut it down when I was done and that's when it happened.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 14, 2016 ---
    This happened to me last night on my new iMac as I was shutting down after doing a Sierra update. First time it has happened
     
  14. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #14
    You're also not going to have the horrible memory leaks in Mail on Sierra. I've just rolled back my partner' iMac to El Capitan for this reason.
     
  15. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #15
    10.12.3 beta no difference. I'm pretty certain this won't get fixed and that Apple isn't even aware of it. The good news is it is only on shutdown/restart randomly and only on Sierra. Just wish I knew what caused it to begin with.
     
  16. fat jez, Dec 19, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2016

    fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #16
    I suspect they are aware, but as it's not causing crashes it's not a high priority.
     
  17. macmee Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    my imac had graphics issues on sierra as well which happened coming out of sleep

    i believe apple is just bad
     
  18. iRaynor SK thread starter macrumors 6502

    iRaynor SK

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Location:
    Banská Bystrica, Slovak Republic
    #18
    Good to know it's software issue, not hardware.

    Thanks!
     
  19. apppen1 macrumors regular

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #19
    Do you use any external drives? I don't have this issue since I stopped using an external drive, it always happened while leaving an external drive connected for a long time and then ejecting it before turning off the iMac.
     
  20. catlv macrumors newbie

    catlv

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    #20
    I had the same issue on my first day with my new iMac (last week).

    Installed the most recent BETA of Sierra, and haven't had it come back since.

    I also cleared PRAM/SMC.
     

Share This Page