Imac retina and external drives

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Tobamory, Mar 6, 2015.

1. Tobamory macrumors newbie

Hi guys I'm new to Macs and 4 weeks in, liking it thus far but have a question if i may.
    I got the new 27 inch retina with 3TB fusion drive of which i have a boot camped Windows 8 for backup, but mainly access it through fusion or parallels.

Ive been converting my movie library with Smart Convertor pro but was kinda annoyed id kinda start filling the 3tb fusion drive with iTunes guff.

So i bought the 8TB WD duo and made is raid 1 so 4TB and its connected and flying.

The question i have is, do you all leave your iMacs on all the time or do you schedule shutdowns etc. Im presuming if you auto shutdown you can't actually dismount the Thunderbolt drive.

I like the way iTunes is sharing everything round my house and streams perfectly to Apple TV iPads etc....

whats best way ?

Reason is I've moved the iTunes Lib to the Thunderbolt drive thus was looking at keeping it on all the time... but whats everyone else do ?

thanks

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

I believe you will find that the vast majority of users on here almost never shutdown and just let it sleep. If you turn on "wake on LAN" it will wake up when the Apple TV needs to stream.

3. tdhurst macrumors 68040

tdhurst

Display sleep

I let my display sleep all the time, but the hard drive is seldom asleep, and the computer is rarely turned off.

Have never had a problem related to leaving it on all the time, except for having to replace one, three-year-old MBP hd (after seven laptops, one failure after three years seems acceptable to me).

4. redheeler macrumors 603

redheeler

"Vast majority of users" is an over generalization, don't you think?

I shut down my iMac and Mac mini almost every night, but always put my rMBP to sleep. There are advantages and disadvantages to both.

5. tdhurst macrumors 68040

tdhurst

Nope.

6. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member