iMac retina RAM

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Cptkent, Nov 21, 2014.

  1. Cptkent macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    #1
    Hi all,
    I've just ordered a iMac retina. Got it with 8Gb ram with the intention of upgrading it in the future with some aftermarket ram to 32gb
    I have 16gb of 1300mhz ram lying around, from another laptop. Thoughts / comments on using this in the new machine in place of the 8gb that I ordered it with? I'm not sure on compatibility, speed, etc
    Thoughts/comments?
    Thanks
    David
     
  2. asriznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    Based on the specs:

    8GB (two 4GB) of 1600MHz DDR3 memory; four SO-DIMM slots, user accessible
    Configurable to 16GB or 32GB.

    Don't think you can use the 1300MHz modules you have from the other computer.

    you can get aftermarket RAMs from OWC
     
  3. Cptkent thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    #3
    Thanks

    I guess he answer I want to know is - can I use the older RAM, and would I want to?
     
  4. jdphoto macrumors 6502

    jdphoto

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    #4
    From what I've read I think you CAN use the RAM, but your machine would run slower. So yes something you CAN do, not something I'd want to do. However, I've never tried this so there is a chance it won't work. Shouldn't harm your machine to try. It will just beep if it doesn't like the memory.
     
  5. Cape Dave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #5
    I tried it. Worked fine. But caused ALL Ram to run at the lower speed. I ordered new Ram right away. The thought of slowing down my machine was too painful :)
     

Share This Page