iMac Screen Life

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by arj8138, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. arj8138 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, United States
    #1
    OK so I forgot one major detail. Mac Pros dont come with Front Row and I was REALLY looking forward to using that app.


    So now Im set on the 2g less iMac....almost.


    I wanna hear from the iMac owners about their screens. If they have had any trouble within / outside of 3 years.


    Also, is the iMac monitor the same as the Apple Cinema Display?

    Thanks.
     
  2. WhiteNoiseMaker macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #2
    Correct me if i'm wrong but i'm sure all Mac's come with Front Row. You just don't get a remote with the Pro, so you need to use the keyboard shortcut to open it or click on the app icon.
     
  3. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #3
    You're correct, you can use Front Row on a Mac Pro... you just don't get to use a remote.
     
  4. arj8138 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, United States
    #4
    Then whats the point?

    I think the whole appeal of front row is that I can control media functions from across the room.
     
  5. IEatApples macrumors 6502a

    IEatApples

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere (Norway)
    #5
    Hmm… there doesn't seem to be any infrared port? So, I'm guessing buying the remote later wouldn't do much good?

    Man, if that's true it's just silly! :(
     
  6. IEatApples macrumors 6502a

    IEatApples

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere (Norway)
    #6
    Oh, and can someone answer the original questions about the iMac's screen life? I really wanna know! …
    I'm waiting to buy a new iMac you see! ;)
     
  7. newkeyboard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    #7
    It's a different screen to the current crop but I'm looking at the 20 screen on my 1.25 ghz imac g4 and it's as perfect as the day I purchased it. No lost pixels or gradient problems. In a way the fact that the screen has been so good is the reason I just ordered a Mac pro and cinema display. I'm sick if ditching a perfectly good monitor every time the computer gets too old.
     
  8. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #8
    It's NOT the same monitor as the ACD's. I really don't know how long the life is because I just got mine. I'm guessing that the hardware inside the computer would start going bad long before the monitor does.
     

Share This Page