iMac Second Monitor

Discussion in 'iMac' started by carfac, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. carfac macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #1
    Hi:

    Second monitors are something I have NEVER paid attention to. Not even sure how it works.

    I am running ProTools (a professional audio editing program), and there are essentially two main screens- the "mixer" and the "recorder". I am running on a dedicated iMac running this (a 20", FWIW), and I am running Tiger with all upgrades (Leopard is not 100% on ProTools yet).

    So can a 20" Intel Core 2 Duo run a second monitor (AND the built in one, too)? If so, can I put the recorder screen on one monitor, and the mixer oin the other? And if I CAN do that, how do I move the mouse from one screen to another- are the "virtually" side by side?

    Thanks for the 411.
     
  2. STYF macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    #2
    AFAIK, yes you can and to move the move to other screen you just move it to that screen, like as it goes to the far right of one screen it enters the left of the other.
     
  3. Jaunty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
  4. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #4
    Jaunty-

    Cool- answers all my questions- Thank you!
     
  5. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #5
    Yes they will both run at the same time. As for the mouse you can adjust the monitor arrangement in relation to each other in the system preferences. When adjusted right the mouse/windows etc will transfer between monitors seamlessly.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. SDLSteve macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    Yes, everything will run seamless.

    I've also seen a clip on two macbooks connected where one basically took over the hard drive of the other so it used the monitor as its own. Looked cool although I don't have two macbooks to try it out.
     
  7. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #7
    Sweet!

    I picked up the DVI->RGB dongle on the way home last night... I had a spare LCD at home. Got home and hooked it up- worked EXACTLY as I was hoping. :D

    Saves me a lot of time... happy it works so easily!

    Thanks for the help guys!
     
  8. freezeframe007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    #8
    I have the 24 in. white intel based iMac w/3GB of ram with Tiger O/S. I am interested in hooking up a second monitor to support my photography. If I am understanding this forum correctly; I conclude that it is possible? My next questions: is there anything else (equipment, adapters, specialized cables, etc.)? Obviously, a second monitor. Other than that? I didn't notice any familiar port on the rear of the computer. I was expecting a 9 pin (serial looking port). Is that old school? The only one that looks like it is meant for a monitor is the one all the way to the right. But, I have never seen that connection before.

    Also, I have seen flat screen TV's that bost a PC port. Is that another option. If the price is comparable why not get one item that does both? Plus, I could hook up a game console to the TV and remove the other TV out of the computer room and just have the computer with the second monitor that has multiple functions.

    Interested in your thoughts. Feel free to email to freezeframe007@cox.net as well.

    Thanx!
     
  9. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #9

Share This Page