iMac second Screen

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Bat6111, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. Bat6111 macrumors member

    Bat6111

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    This is my first post after took a look at this site for long because I always found my answers from this forums. For now, I am using a new iMac (2010) and waiting for a second screen 27''. I am a bit hesitant between "LED Cinema Display 27'' and the second "iMac" (Video Input) because for the 2009 iMac is about the same price.

    Which one is the best way to go?

    I am doing 3D and Photography.

    Thank you,
     
  2. ryan0402 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    #2
    If you got the money buy another low end 27in and use it as the display plus you will get the extra proccesser strength
     
  3. js81 macrumors 65816

    js81

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    KY
    #3
    Not if the OP is using it as a second screen - that processor will not be accessible from the primary machine.

    I do, however, second getting a second iMac; it'll give you a perfect match and a backup machine in case your primary goes down. Only real down side is that it will draw more power than a 27" display only would...
     
  4. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #5
  5. ryan0402 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
  6. Bat6111 thread starter macrumors member

    Bat6111

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Thank you very much, I might do with the brand new core i7.
     
  7. Bat6111 thread starter macrumors member

    Bat6111

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    :D Use it as rendering machine. Can I set both of them up for render farm?
     
  8. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #10
    made me wonder. is it possible to use a MBP as a second display? 2010 model
     
  9. Bat6111 thread starter macrumors member

    Bat6111

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    What I have read is only 27 iMac can use it as a second display (Video Input).
     

Share This Page