imac+Sky online box ?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gglillo, Oct 4, 2015.

  1. gglillo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    #1
    Hi,
    with the 5k imac can i connect the Sky online box through the hdmi port and watch their movies?
    thanks
     
  2. tillsbury macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
  3. tillsbury macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
  4. gglillo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    #4
    Ooops i didn't know, there isn't a hdmi port on the imac
     
  5. johnnyturbouk macrumors 68000

    johnnyturbouk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    on the yellow [oled] brick road to tech nirvana.
    #5
    Bit of a sore issues with some of us mac enthusiasts; it was to allow 5k display with the limitations of TB1.2.
    Skylake, TB1.3 may hopefully allow target display mode.
    I think as many people who miss this feature should let Apple now that TDM is being dearly missed.
     
  6. Pushkar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SW London, UK
    #6
    You can use the Thunderbolt port and a Capture Card to connect HDMI devices such as a Sky Box/Console. Check out the Avermedia ExtremeCap U3 - although it may be just worth purchasing a new TV considering the outlay.
     
  7. tillsbury macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #7
    I can't see the point in buying such a beautiful display and then worrying about why you can't display a low resolution image on it. If you only need HDMI / 1080 / TV quality just buy a cheap TV for peanuts.
     

Share This Page