iMac --> Sony Bravia

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Grunze, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. Grunze macrumors regular

    Grunze

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I have my iMac in my office and my Sony Bravia 40" (kdl40d3000) in my living room. I'd like to use the TV as a mirrored monitor for the iMac (not just for watching movies as in appletv), and then just use my bluetooth keyboard and mouse in the living room to control it... The wired distance I'd need for the cables is about 40 feet. so hear are my questions..

    1. Should I go with HDMI or VGA?
    2. If I choose VGA, will most tv's have that option, in case I replace my Bravia.
    3. In terms of audio, what is my best option for cabling? (i don't have/need any surround sound or home theatre)
    4. Is there some way to do this wirelessly? (I don't think so)

    I think that's all!
    Thanks!!
     
  2. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #2
    1) HDMI definitely! This will also give you forward compatibility for the foreseeable future. So you'll need a mini-DVI to HDMI adapter (or mini-DVI to full DVI, and then a DVI to HDMI adapter or cable)
    2) See 1.
    3) If you don't have your TV connected to your receiver, then you can just get a stereo RCA to mini-plug cable. I'm not sure how long these come, but if any place has very long cables it will be monoprice. Better yet, get a Toslink cable with a mini-plug at one end. That gives you more flexibility in the future. These can definitely be had at monoprice.
    4) Nope.

    EDIT: The exact cabling and adapters you'll need for video will depend on your iMac.
     
  3. Advance The Man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    Search my recent posts. I just did this with identical set up.
     
  4. Grunze thread starter macrumors regular

    Grunze

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #4
    Great! I've been looking at monoprice for hdmi cables..
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240

    And there are a few different categories.. but I don't understand what the difference is.. am I safe to get the cheapest 50ft cable I can find there?

    What is the dif. between 24awg, 26awg 22 awg and hdmi1.3 etc.. How do I know what to choose??

    Thanks!
     
  5. robotartfashion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    the 24, 26, 22 refer to the size of the shielding i believe, so the higher the number the heavier the gauge and therefore the bigger size around but also stronger the cable

    1.3 is the most recent iteration of cable, for the time being 1.3a, b, c, makes no real difference, 1.3a is all that is required to comply with industry standards

    monoprice is awesome! enjoy!

    also, if you're planning on running the cable through the wall to avoid cable clutter (providing you own your home and feel like dealing with the work) they do sell "in wall" hdmi cable which is flat to make it easier to run in wall installations
     
  6. roni123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #6
    Imac 24" to Sony bravia KDL-60NX800

    First of all hi to every1, since Im a new member :p

    Ok, now back to the problem :) I have a 24" Imac OS X 10.6.3, also a SONY BRAVIA 60" model KDL-60NX800.

    I have been talking to many ppl. and every1 has a different story. I also talked to apple support, but didn't get e exact answer.

    Then i called Sony support, OMG..... 3 hours to explain them what i needed.

    What I really need is very simple.... I need some help to get the best connection from my Imac to my Sony.

    Can you guys tell me please which is the best way, to get the best quality video and audio that i can?

    I already have a Mini DisplayPort to DVI Adapter, but if its a better quality way Im willing to do it. Thank you for your time!


    REGARDS, Roni.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    There is MDP + USB to HDMI but I don't know does it improve the quality, maybe sound quality depending on what are you using now.
     
  8. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    You might also want to run CAT6 along with your HDMI and Audio cables. In lieu of using HDMI, the CAT6 can be used in conjunction with HDMI>CAT6 converters. Not sure about pricing, but running CAT6 is much easier than running HDMI, especially if you're going up/down floors and in the walls.
     
  9. roni123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #9
    Thank you guys!!!

    Thank you Hellhammer and ftaok....

    I'm really interested on that MDP + USB to HDMI. I just dont get the use of the usb LOL :p. Can you please explain me Hellhammer? And have you tried that? Or do you know if it really works, to watch movies and stuff like that?
    So except that adapter, I'll need also a HDMI cable to run it from this adapter to the back of my TV right? I wont need extra cable for the sound? Or ill need that also? Thank you, and also sorry for all this questions :p I guess im noob about this suff lol.

    Regards!!!!
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    USB is used to carry audio as MDP doesn't (it can but Apple has disabled it, though it's enabled in 2010 MBPs:confused:). HDMI will then carry both, audio and video so no need for extra audio cable but there is no actual HDMI cable with the adapter (see the pic), only HDMI port so you need an HDMI cable to hook it to your TV
     
  11. roni123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #11
    Im back with troubles :p

    Hellhammer i did all you told me, i bought that adapter and also the hdmi cable. Everything works perfect. The sound is very cool, i also see the background of imac " the space" on my bravia, but i cant see the video. Its actually playing right now, and i can hear the voice, i can also see the settings of my imac in my tv. Now im sure i have to do something, but what is that? Bc in the sound i did output and it started working. Now can you please help me about the video??? Thank you for your time..
     
  12. parish macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #12
    I've just bought a Bravia (KDL-40EX603) but my MBP has DVI rather than MDP. Does anyone make a DVI+USB->HDMI adaptor? I can only find DP/MDP versions.

    Sony (rather stupidly IMHO) has linked the PC audio jack to an HDMI port on the back of the TV instead of one on the side which makes it awkward to connect/disconnect the HDMI cable when the TV is wall-mounted and I don't want to leave the cable permanently attached.
     
  13. Paulyboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    #13
    The MDPs in the late 2009 iMacs also carry audio. I have a 27" iMac and the Griffin MDP to HDMI video adapter that a lot of 2010 MacBook Pro users are using for both audio and video and I also get audio and video through that adapter as well. Technical documents on Apple's website confirm this as well. I'm not sure why it was never advertised. In any case my 27" iMac is now connected (through the wall) to my 47" LG HDTV in the living room and it works perfectly. It's great for watching videos, surfing the web, and even playing games from the comfort of my living room couch on the big beautiful screen the LG HDTV offers. Not that the iMac's 27 inch screen is a slouch or anything. :)

    -PN
     
  14. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #14

    You need to mirror your display, right now it is extended.

    SEE: http://www.usingmac.com/2008/6/19/setting-mirror-display-for-your-mac
     

Share This Page