iMac startup bar in corner

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bastiaanonline, Feb 17, 2015.

  1. bastiaanonline macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    #1
    Hi there,

    My new 21.5" 2013 iMac with full configuration is great, but it does have one weird thing. When rebooting or on startup, the progress bar jumps from the center of the screen to the left bottom corner at around half the startup progress.
    It's still amazingly fast, but I just wondered if anyone else experiences this "issue". Also the screen is mirrored on my second screen at the startup and login screen, but becomes a "normal" extended desktop when logged in.

    Thanks!
     
  2. nollimac macrumors regular

    nollimac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #2
    That's unusual behavior...take it to your nearest Apple store so they can take a look. What you describe seems to be the windowserver preparing the screen for the login.app...out of curiosity, are you using El Capitan?
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    That's a known bug with some versions of Mac OS X. Nothing an Apple Store can do about it.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    I can answer your question...
    The OP posted this question in Feb 2015 (two years ago), several months before El Capitan was released, so I can feel safe in saying that was not El Capitan.
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    Oh wow, didn't even look at the year. Very good catch DeltaMac
     
  6. nollimac macrumors regular

    nollimac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #6
    Me either...can't believe I was the first to answer...I dislike an unanswered post.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 15, 2017 ---
    Can't believe that was on the first page!
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    There's no rule that says all questions have to be answered (unless you are a bit OCD about that :D )
    But (just my opinion) an answer should be both relevant (an attempt to actually answer the question), and timely.

    The OP had 270 views in two years. Sometimes no answer is necessary.

    You answer when you expect that the answer will be helpful to the OP.
    Not helpful, don't answer (period)
    I wish some posters here would be more sensitive to that, but that's just my opinion.
    I've seen some forums where there are answers that sound like "You can be proud, I just read your post"
    Even worse, something like "I don't know the answer to your question. Sorry :( " as the first answer! Who would that ever help?
     
  8. nollimac macrumors regular

    nollimac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #8
    I participated in several forums, and occasionally here...this is the first time I have seen a post that's two years old on the first page. I was surprised no one advise for the OP to take his machine to the Apple store which would have been the best answer for such unusual behavior. I am only OCD when I post a question. :rolleyes:
     
  9. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    Then, you saw something different from the OP than I did, as the OP had an iMac, and the problem happened while a second display was attached. I can't believe that anyone would take a full setup like that to a store, when the answer was likely right here. (probably normal behavior, or at least a known behavior from Yosemite, said to be a bit dodgy on startup with multiple displays.)
    I can't say why anyone else might not have responded. If I had seen it at the time, it would be like one that I would have answered.

    Maybe the OP will even respond here. It's only been a week since OP was last active on this site.
     

Share This Page