Imac takes 6mins to start up

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jeremycrook, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. jeremycrook macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Stokenchurch
    #1
    Hi All and I hope some one can help me.

    I have an 20" Imac with 2Ghz intel core 2 duo processor and 4GB 667MHZ DDR2 of Ram.

    I have upgraded it from Tiger to Snow Leopard 10.6.2.

    When I start the Imac up it takes between 6mins to 8mins which is very slow compared to my Macbook Pro which is running Snow leopard.

    What I have noticed a few things wrong.

    1. When I run a software Update it says It needs to run a Imac EFI Firmware Update 1.3 When I run the update it comes up with a message Unexpeted Error occurred (28: 3)

    I don't know what to do here?

    2. Disc Utillty I run the repair Disk permissions and when it is finshed i get a message Warning Suid file "system/library/cores...as been modified and will not be rapaired.

    The Imac runs fine once it is up but is just taking such I long time to get it started up

    Any help would be great
     
  2. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #2
    This is a very well discussed topic, please search.


    Go into system preferences and select the hard drive as the startup disk.
     
  3. jeremycrook thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Stokenchurch
    #3
    Hi Thanks for the thread.

    I tryed to do what you said but when I go into the startup disk to select the hard drive there is only network startup in there and in the top right a get the wheel turning but nothing happens the keeps turning and has been like this for 30mins now?
     
  4. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
    #4
    Sounds like your hard disk could be on its way out. I'd make sure you have a recent backup, or make one while you can.
     
  5. Techhie macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
    #5
    Try to do it as quick as possible, every second the drive is spinning more data is being corrupted
     
  6. jeremycrook thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Stokenchurch
    #6
    Hi Again

    This now has started to work every time and I can see the Mac Hard drive. But the problem now is when I click on it and do the restart it comes up with a message. The bless tool was unable to set the current boot disc.

    I have no data on the mac as I have only just got it. I did a clean install because it used to have only Windows XP on it.
     
  7. jeremycrook thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Stokenchurch
    #7
    Hi again every one

    Well I got a new 1TB hard drive and fitted to my Imac. Hoping t would sort out all my issues.

    I started to put snow leopard back on the new hard drive. But at the end of the install it said it had failed????. I then turned the Imac off and on and it booted up in Snow leopard but again was very very slow to boot up.

    any suggestions and on were I can go from here?

    Cheers
     
  8. msw123307 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #8
    I just had issues where it was taking my computer forever to start up (sat on the blue screen for 5-7 mins). Had my HD replaced (separate issue) but it was still slow to boot. I had an external drive plugged in via FW 800. Once I unplugged it, startup was a breeze.
     
  9. dougb256 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #9
    Yes! I was wondering why my new 27" C2D was taking so long to boot up. As soon as I would turn off the FW drive the login screen would pop up. So I turn off the FW drive when I do a shutdown and only turn it back on once I've booted up and get the login screen. I also did the System Prefs -> Startup Disk -> Macintosh HD change and now my system boots up in 20-30 seconds.

    -Doug
     
  10. msw123307 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #10
    Yeah - I had my Macintosh HD selected as well. One time it did become unselected, but during the problems it was still selected. So it was basically totally related to the FW drive being plugged in and on, at least for me. Once i get my 27" (waiting....) I'm going to reinstall the software for the external (Wd Studio, I know there was a Leopard update at least) and see if that helps the problem.
     
  11. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #11
    I would take it to the genius bar and see what they say.
     
  12. jeremycrook thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Stokenchurch
    #12
    Hi all

    My Mac is now All Fixed. After around 4.5 hours talking with Applecare and just when we were about to give up and get a new logic board we tried a PRAM reset which worked. After the PRAM reset it let me select the hard drive and update the firmware.

    Now my Imac boots in 27sec a lot better the 6 to 8 Mins.

    I have to say that Shaun The Apple guy was very good in helping me out. The Imac was out of warranty but as I got Snow leopard he helped me sort the machine out anyway.

    5 stars for Apple.:apple::apple::apple::apple::apple:
     
  13. tunerX Suspended

    tunerX

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #13
    Mine was taking a couple minutes as well. I selected the startup disk. It only took ~30 seconds to come back up and I was here on the forum posting this in a bout a minute.
     
  14. Carolus Rex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #14
    Hehe

    Used to work for Applecare. You wouldn't believe how many seemingly unrelated and "weird" problems I solved with a quick PRAM-reset (And/or repair disk permissions) That's why I kind of always start with that nowadays. Sometimes it saves hours of feeble troubleshooting... To bad I only saw this post now or I could have saved you some troubles. Glad it all went well in the end anyhow.
    By the way, you always get 90 days of free support if you buy a new OS. It is good to know. Sometimes it is worth buing/upgrading just to be able to call Applecare if you need to.
     

Share This Page