iMac + Thunderbolt GoFlex + SSD = Native SATA III speeds?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by appletechpro, Jul 19, 2012.

1. appletechpro macrumors regular

When the new iMacs released I will be purchasing a 2011 model as my secondary machine. My intention is to purchase GoFlex TB adapter and use an external SATA III SSD as my boot volume -- can I expect native SATA III speeds despite the drive being external?

I know that Thunderbolt is theoretically 10 Gbps each way, but I have no experience with real-world transfer rates.

Thank you.

2. Flunkyturtle macrumors 6502

I get around 360mb's read and around 200mb's write.

If you search my user i put a video up showing the speeds and stuff :)

----------

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1396996

that one

3. appletechpro thread starter macrumors regular

Those are acceptable speeds... but come on Thunderbolt! SATA III is 6 Gbps... Thunderbolt is 10 Gbps... so it loses more than 40% throughput?!

I was expecting better results.

4. WesCole macrumors 6502a

I am thinking maybe the Seagate controller is the bottleneck. It is still new technology and this is the first thunderbolt adapter that Seagate has released, so it is bound to improve.

5. dearlaserworks macrumors regular

Doesn't the GoFlex adapter have SATA II (3Gbps)?

6. Rumpot macrumors newbie

7. appletechpro thread starter macrumors regular

That makes sense. Thanks for the explanation.

8. omvs macrumors 6502

The normal STAE121 is SATA2 (I believe), but I've read 'desktop' STAE122 is SATA3. OTOH checking Flunkyturtle's post, it seems like he has the STAE121 but is reporting higher speeds - maybe they upgraded since the initial versions?

Assymetric read/write speeds seem to suggest to me that the bottleneck is the SSD, not the adapter. But I'm just speculating - I only have a Vertex 2, which is 250MB read / 200MB/write and I get the same thing whether its internal or TB connected.

9. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

Orlandoech