iMac to HDMI TV.... Help

Discussion in 'iMac' started by picnic4u, Jul 16, 2013.

  1. picnic4u macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    #1
    Ok, I thought I had this sorted but need some help.
    I have a 2007 iMac 2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo connect so I know I need mini DVI out. My TV is a Panasonic TH-42PZ plasma TV with HDMI. So I have got the Mini DVI to HDMI and a HDMI lead. Now when I connect this the Mac Flashes blue and come up with the menu for the TV and says the other display is a Panasonic TV.. great... Now the Problem... TH TV screen just stays black. I tried two different HDMI leads , tried all the various 1080i,p 720, 50hz, 60hz combinations , tried both HDMI inputs in the tv. Nothing I know I still need another lead for the sound but why is this not working , The mac clearly knows it's connected to the TV? I saw on the product spec for the model it says the output support from the mini-DVI output port with support for DVI, VGA, S-video, and composite video connections via adapter. It doesn't mention HDMI but it appears lots of others are connecting ok .... am I missing something?
    PLEASE help
     
  2. SueG macrumors member

    SueG

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    #2
    You need to select the source to hdmi on your tv remote
     
  3. picnic4u thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    #3
    You mean the channel where the hdmi input is? .... come on you got to try better than that.. of course i checked I was on the correct input. My blu ray is plugged in there so I put a disc in so I knew i was on the right channel then Un plugged the HDMI and plugged in the imac ..... black screen
     
  4. Slow Programmer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #4
    When you try and move the mouse pointer off the right side of your desktop does it disappear or stay visible?
     
  5. picnic4u thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
  6. Slow Programmer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #6
    I am running a similar set-up on a 2009 iMac and have only had a few problems. Overall it has worked well. I am not sure if it is helpful, but if i set the resolution to 1080,720 etc I will have a black screen on the TV. Actually, if I set the resolution to anything except 1360 x 768 I have a black screen as that is the only setting that will work with my TV. It also takes as long as 15 seconds for the black screen to change when i set it from an unusable resolution to the usable resolution.

    Hopefully some of this will be helpful.
     

Share This Page