iMac to samsung "mode not supported"

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ruk110, Jun 26, 2010.

  1. ruk110 macrumors regular

    ruk110

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #1
    I have a 21.5 inch iMac and have it hooked up to a Samsung LED 40inch tv. its been connected and forking perfectly for some time now. but i had to disconnect the mac for a day and now that i have gone to re connect it, the tv shows 'mode not supported' The resolution is not supported on this TV. Please change the resolution.

    the TV is a full Hd 1080p one and so is my mac settings set to 1080p and 60hz to match the tv, but its not working anymore! any ideas on how i can get past this problem? or is it a fault with the mac/TV??
     
  2. maxmiles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #2
    1. Make sure the TV is set to the proper HDMI or VGA port.
    2. Check the cable connections, unplug and replug on each end and make sure each are secure.
    3. Experiment with the resolution settings on the iMac, maybe something changed and whatever particular mode it's set to is not recognized by the TV.
     
  3. ruk110 thread starter macrumors regular

    ruk110

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Tried checking all connections are ok. tried out all four HDMI ports and still same message and changing the resolution on my mac just makes my screen go big and small but TV still does not display anything at all
     
  4. maxmiles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #4
    How about the refresh rate? Make sure it's at 60Hz
     
  5. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Or sometimes with my screens you can choose 59Hz and that seems to work better than 60 for some reason.
     
  6. ruk110 thread starter macrumors regular

    ruk110

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #6
    still not woking, im going to back up using time machine and see if that makes a difference,wish me luck...
     
  7. maxmiles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #7
    Also try cycling through the ports on the TV, that might jog it to work. (I mean press the input button on your TV remote to move it through the different video-in connections.)
     
  8. maxmiles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #8
    Time machine is totally unrelated to the video out issue. Or I suppose if using time machine you return your monitor settings to what was working, maybe? But it's important to find out exactly what settings have been changed to break the connection.
     
  9. ruk110 thread starter macrumors regular

    ruk110

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #9
    OMFG now time machine is nor working. as i enter it the 'restore' button is greyed out so i cant even restore to the previous settings. scrolling through the different ports didnt work. same message. frustration.
     
  10. maxmiles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #10
    I hear ya.

    Mmm.. if this was a connection problem it would say "no input" or something similar. It's got to be a settings issue. I have a samsung 37" and might connect my macbook to it to see if I can better see what the setting selection is. Am out-and-about right now, will test it in a few hours.
     
  11. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #11
    the issue here could be with the adapter or hdmi cable you are using. try replacing both the adapter and the hdmi cable... it might have worn out over time, resulting in your frustrating issues.
     
  12. ruk110 thread starter macrumors regular

    ruk110

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #12
    i tried another hdmi lead and still nothing,i dont have another adapter but tried wiggling it around and did not prove not make any difference. i know the tv is working fine because i have my playstation hooked up to it right now :(
     
  13. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #13
    @OP: Try repairing permissions with Disk Utility. Also, is there any chance that the adapter isn't working? Try PRAM and SMC reset too
     
  14. ruk110 thread starter macrumors regular

    ruk110

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #14
    pram and smc?? and how would i go bout doing that?
     
  15. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  16. maxmiles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #16
    So I've connected my macbook to my samsung HDTV and can't see any settings that you could be missing or might cause this. Mine is set to "1080p" as the resolution, and I'm sure you've tried this numerous times.

    Question: is your iMac able to detect what the device is? In the display preferences do you see the extra dialog box called "SAMSUNG"?
     
  17. maxmiles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #17
    man, I should just invest in something like GoToAssist so I could see exactly what is on a person's desktop. Has anyone ever tried using these remote access programs? pretty useful.
     
  18. maxmiles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #19
    Solution

    Ok, this should work:

    In display preferences click on "gather displays". What happens?
     
  19. JustSomeDude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #20
    Doh, I didn't notice you were doing this off an imac earlier (although, my display preferences says "gather windows")

    Ignore my advice (since it requires another computer). Maxmiles advice does the equivalent, but much easier. Anyway, according to the blogs, the mac is detecting your samsung and trying to set Pal mode (50 hz) automatically. So using Maxmile's advice you'll be able to get the settings for the samsung and set it correctly.
     
  20. ruk110 thread starter macrumors regular

    ruk110

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #21
    trust me if could screen share with some sort of expert id jump straight up and share it for remote access but the help just is not around these days.
     
  21. ruk110 thread starter macrumors regular

    ruk110

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #22
    *tumble weed flys across the room*

    nothing what so ever
     
  22. ruk110 thread starter macrumors regular

    ruk110

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #23
    yes my iMac does detect the Samsung as a display but then thats about as far as it all goes. if i click on any lower res setting my mac blinks and changes but the tv sort of just sits there
     
  23. JustSomeDude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #24
    Try "detect displays" and then "gather windows". You should see a 2nd display preferences windows pop up behind your current one. This should have the display settings for your samsung.
     
  24. ruk110 thread starter macrumors regular

    ruk110

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #25
    nah done that one too. i have done just about everything there is to do. now im thinking to go back in time a week ago when everything was peachy?

    ..time machine is only two clicks away...
     

Share This Page