Imac transfer

Discussion in 'iMac' started by basslik, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. basslik macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #1
    Hi everyone, here's what's up and I'm hope I'm on the right track?

    My Imac 1.83 took a crap last Thursday, so I bought another Imac, which is a Imac 2.0. The person i bought the Imac from says he lost his leopard install disk, but it currently has Snow Leopard. I want to be legit and wipe his Snow leopard clean cause I have all my original install disk's, from Tiger to Leopard & Snow Leopard. Can I use my rightfully owned install disks on this machine?. Thank you all and have a great week.
     
  2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #2
    No your discs will not work, the discs that ship with machines are machine specific. However for a nominal cost Apple will replace the original discs for you. Contact AppleCare, explain the problem and they will get you to someone that can take your order for the replacement discs.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HE57
     
  3. basslik thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for your time to reply. Will contact Apple to get a replacement OS, also now it has me wondering that the dude who sold me the Imac did a fresh install of Snow Leopard, so I guessing he just decided to keep the original Tiger disks and also installed Snow Leopard?
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    If you have a retail version of Leopard and/or Snow Leopard, than you can use them. Only the grey install discs are system specific.
     
  5. basslik thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the chime in Hellhammer, yes when I bought my imac 1.83 it came with tiger grey disks, then through the hoopla I bought Leopard upgrade disk, then later Snow Leopard upgrade disk. Since the machine has died on me I now know the Tiger disks are useless, but since I still have working Leopard, and Snow Leopard, can I use one of those disks? and by retail, are my upgrade Leopard & Snow leopard upgrades retail?, I can boot from them and do clean installs?, and If I can use them disks and register with Apple with this new machine, and not the old machine , is that ok?, thanks again and I really appreciate your folks time helping me out.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Yes, those "upgrade" discs are retail versions and will work with any Mac (as long as it shipped with that or earlier version of OS X. E.g. the retail version of 10.6.0 may not work with 2011 MBPs since they ship with newer version and drivers).
     
  7. basslik thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #7
    HellHammer thank you bud, got it installed but I'm bummed out cause the Snow Leopard disk is stuck in the superdrive!, the drive is working cause every time I restart it wants to run the Snow Leopard, but it won't eject, I press the eject button and you can see the eject icon show up on the screen but it won't come out?, I also tried the terminal cammand drutil eject, and can hear the drive trying to spit it out and no go, I seen a few youtube vids on how to get it out but none of them show the same Imac i have and tried pretty much everything. Any suggestions? thanks Hellhammer
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    http://guides.macrumors.com/Force_Eject_a_Stuck_CD_or_DVD
     
  9. basslik thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #9
    Thanks ay, well after trying everything I put the Imac face down on a towel and started it up then pressed the eject button on the keyboard and the darn thing came out with a little help from gravity. The snow Leopard CD seemed fine when it came out and looking at it. So far no other CD's has gotten stuck?, hopefully that's the last time I saw that happen. Hey hellhammer are you a musician?
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    Not really. I can play all instruments okay but I don't own any. I prefer listening ;)
     

Share This Page