Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RCummings4885

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 17, 2011
So I've narrowed my search of new computers down to either a 27 inch Imac with the 2.93 GhZ quad core I7 processor or the 15 inch MacBookPro with 2.66 GhZ Intel core I7. Now aside from one being a laptop and the other having a much bigger screen these computers are basically looking the same to me however I have gotten some people adamantly warning me against getting an IMac and that they've heard and experienced bad things with Imacs and Fincal Cut Pro working in tandem. IS there any truth to this? ANyone here agree or disagree? Seems to me they are the same processors with the same OS and so why should one handle FCP great and the other not but I'm just a stupid filmmaker so what do I know? Is this the older IMacs people are hating? Portability is not of the essence for me so should I go with the slightly better spec'd computer with the bigger monitor and the same price tag or what here? Help PLEASE!

Ryan

chrismacguy

macrumors 68000
Feb 13, 2009
United Kingdom
iMacs can run FCP just fine, theres no question about that (My White MacBook can strugglingly run FCP7, so an iMac should run it fine). For rendering and compression reasons Id go with the highest spec you can afford if portability isnt a main concern (I try and have a heavy-lifter (Mac Pro for me) and relatively ok laptop for plane/train/bus editing (MacBook for me right now).

Deeya

macrumors member
May 14, 2010
The two computers have a lot of differences, and I would imagine the MBP would run anything slower.

edit: If the portability is meaningless to you, it should be a no brainer. You get more computer for the money with an iMac.

Last edited:

Rodus

macrumors 6502a
Oct 25, 2008
Midlands, UK