iMac vs Mac Pro for professional use?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dpmusic, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. dpmusic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #1
    Hey there.

    I run a recording studio out of my home and I'm currently using my MacBook Pro (1.83 GHz, 1GB Ram). It gets the job done no problem, however, I'd like to not rely on my personal computer for work.

    I've considered both the higher end iMac, or the mac pro. While I know that the new iMacs would work 10 times better than what I have now, might it be smarter to spend twice as much for the Mac Pro? Does the iMac have the power for professional application such as Photo/Video/Music editing -- or is it more for everyday use?

    Thanks! :)
     
  2. mcnallym macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #2
    Whilst the Apple line would be yes get a Mac Pro for this, if your Macbook at that spec does the job for you then no reason why an iMac wouldn't.

    Just wait till Jan and the supposed to be new iMacs out that should be faster.
     
  3. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #3
    Depends on your needs. If you need power + upgrade abilities, then get the Mac Pro. You'll be able to stash more RAM in the machine as well, and it'll last probably twice as long as an iMac will.

    If you don't need upgrade abilities, then go for the iMac. It's similar to your Macbook Pro, only 2 generations newer. Think of the iMac as a Macbook Pro, only as a desktop. The only thing that sucks, is that it's not upgradeable.

    Honestly, I'd go for the Mac Pro. If you can wait, get it when they announce the new machines at Macworld. If you can't, then purchase whichever suits your needs better now.
     
  4. czachorski macrumors 6502a

    czachorski

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #4
    Yes.

    The power is there. Some pros are annoyed at the glossy screen, lack of expandability, and that it is not THE fastest Mac. But make no mistake, it will run all the pro applications well. You will notice the speed boost in the MacPro if doing a lot of rendering or effect in HD video in Final Cut, or other similar tasks. The iMac is a great machine.

    Another thing you might consider if using it in a studio is noise levels generated from the machine. Just a thought.....
     
  5. dpmusic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    Great, this is what I was thinking.. Thanks!! :)
     
  6. ajvizzgamer101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    Actually wait.... Macworld is soon and both Probably will get a nice update. I say go for the iMac though. I mean you just editing Music and Photos iMac can do that with no problems. If you where making like a Video game with 3D graphics and stuff then I would say go for the Mac Pro.
     
  7. dpmusic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #7
    This is all great info, thanks!!

    Another question though, do you guys think that Apple will make improvements to iMacs anytime soon that would allow you to attach another display? I love working with multiple monitors.. :D
     
  8. vendettabass macrumors 6502a

    vendettabass

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    Seoul, South Korea
    #8
    They do that already with the mini dvi port, but in January, they'll probably replace that with a dual link display port (so you'll be able to add an additional 30" display! )
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    wait for the new iMacs, they will come out at macworld. big possibility of quad-core option and nvidia chipsets will come. also maybe new mac pros (?). new ones will have power for your needs
     
  10. dpmusic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #10
    Okey dokey.. another question...

    If I use an imac for hours upon hours straight.. is it more likely for the imac to overheat than macpro? I need to be able to work sold for 12 hours at a time but with everything built in one unit, kinda scares me. Any reports of failure due to overuse?

    :D Thanks guys!
     
  11. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #11
    I run my little macbook pretty hard at times and if it can deal with the heat I think the iMac can too. You have to remember the Core 2 can take quite a lot of heat.
     
  12. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #12
    Thats what they are there for ;) I often have my Macbook on full load for hours encoding DVD's and whatnot.

    Besides if your Macbook survives in a 1" thick case then an iMac will be fine.
     
  13. bigbird macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    If you ever want/need to replace hard drives, optical drives, power supplies, video cards, etc, then don't even consider an iMac. The Mac Pro is made for the user who can fix and upgrade parts without needing to spend a fortune at a repair shop. The MP will hold 4 hard drives. If you're doing video editing you can set up one or more HD's just for that. Want to run Parallels or Boot Camp? Put that on another HD. You get the idea. But if opening up a computer is not your thing, get the iMac.
     
  14. petermcphee macrumors 6502a

    petermcphee

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #14
    As has been mentioned before, I got the iMac for two main reasons: 1) money 2) the all in one look.

    If you're not made squeamish by the threads on this board where users detail (with photos!) how to remove the screen of an iMac to access the internals and replace the drive, the iMac may be for you. If not, save up for a Pro.
     
  15. czachorski macrumors 6502a

    czachorski

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #15
    The all on one iMacs retain their value very well as they age, too. The OP might also find that when it comes time that they have outgrown the iMac and want a bigger HD, newer video card, etc, it might also be quite economical to sell it used, and just grab another iMac. (e.g. just "upgrade" the whole machine when the time comes to upgrade).
     
  16. kwfl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #16
    i think you should go for the high end iMac and then after 3 years when you need a machine for more work and you become more professional, get the pro.
     
  17. BJMRamage macrumors 68020

    BJMRamage

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #17
    I do design/Photography on a top-line iMac. It works fine.

    Quiet too.
    I am so glad I have it as I can really multi-task better than the PC box I had. I usually have 3 Adobe apps and iTunes/Mail/Safari and probably some more open at the same time.

    only when rendering 3-D wraps do i encounter problems.
     
  18. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #18
    What programs are you running?

    Are you going to upgrade to Pro Tools HD with a TDM card? If so, Mac Pro. No other choice.

    If your using logic, what interface are you using? Do you plan to upgrade to PCI type audio interfaces? If you do, again Mac Pro.

    If you are sticking with Pro Tools LE or Logic or something that uses USB/Firewire audio interfaces, an iMac is perfect.
     
  19. petermcphee macrumors 6502a

    petermcphee

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #19
    Also, they're much, much prettier.:D
     
  20. czachorski macrumors 6502a

    czachorski

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #20
    Nobody seems to solve the pretty + functional balance quite like Apple, do they? ;) I have to admit, I love the look of my 24" iMac on my desk at home.
     
  21. dpmusic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #21
    I'm just running ProTools 7.4... not HD. I also do some work with photoshop and Final Cut Pro. Again, my MacBook Pro handles it fine... just wondering if upgrading to a Mac Pro would be an overkill for me, when I can easily work with what an iMac can offer... EEK!! :)
     
  22. CP123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #22
    I'm in the music industry also. I know many producers who are running ProTools and Logic on Mac notebooks. I know one in particular who is running both on the higher end white macbook with no problems. That being said, I think the iMac is more than sufficient. Especially the high end iMac.
     
  23. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005

Share This Page