iMac VS Mac Pro

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mfarris2, Jan 15, 2012.

1. mfarris2 macrumors newbie

Please pardon me if there is any mistaken protocal as this is my first post here.
    I presently own a late 2006 iMac I purchased new through Apple. It is getting a little long in the tooth and I need to upgrade. I am by no means an Mac expert and have to keep a Windows based computer around just to do some things that I have not been able to figure out how to complete on my iMac.
    I have managed to save enough up to buy a very high end 27" iMac or have found brand new Mac Pro's with two quad core processors, 1TB HD + 240GB SSD, Blu ray burner, good video card, Apple Care etc for about $4000.00. Here is a link to said machine.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/180781438945?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649
    The BTO iMac through Apple was going to set me back about $3400.00 + $100.00 at OWC for additional ram. ($3500.00 total.)
    I presently own a Viewsonic monitor I could use until I can save a few more dollars to purchase Apples 27" Cinema Display monitor. And I would have the additional expense of having to purchase a decent set of speakers.
    What I like about the Mac Pro option is the ease to upgrade and with two Xeon 3.2Ghz processors & 12GB of ram, it should blow away the fastest i7 processor the iMac will have. What I do not like about this option is the amount of real-estate , wires that I will now have to put up with. And of course the additional funds I will need to spend for a new monitor, speakers, additional HD;s and perhaps additional ram.