iMac VS. MacBook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Tumeg101, Sep 2, 2007.

?

iMac or MacBook

1. iMac

21 vote(s)
    77.8%
  2. MacBook

6 vote(s)
    22.2%
  1. Tumeg101 macrumors 6502a

Tumeg101

I know I have posted this before, but this time, is the last time... I promise, lol...
    I have been PC all my life, and decided it was time to get a Mac, but I can't decide between the mid MacBook, and the low-end iMac. I wont be buying either until Christmas or my Birthday(Jan-7th), when I can afford it(from gifts).

-MacBook- Pros\Cons
    I would get the MacBook for the portability, but I am not sure I would even need to take it anywhere. I am a freshman in High School, but I am home-schooled so no need to bring it to school. The only places I would bring it, is maybe camping (we go camping allot), and basically just around the house. But I am not sure if portability is worth the extra $200.
    I also really like the MacBook, for it's nice sleek look, portability(not a big thing to me), and ummm... basically that's it...

-iMac- Pros\Cons
    I really like the iMac for it's big, bright screen, I like the keyboard, nice big HDD, better graphics than the MacBook, looks VERY nice, but my only concern is... when I was comparing the two Macs at the store earlier today, I noticed the iMac 'beach balling' ALOT, and actually froze at one point (playing with iDVD), and I don't know if that is because it was just getting really hot (from all the other computers heating up the room (and the 100 degree weather doesn't help)), but the MacBook also would beachball a few times, but passed times I have played with it, it never has beachballed on me, so it might just be the heat.