iMac warranty and HDD replacement

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Dagless, Apr 21, 2009.

  1. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #1
    Apparently my iMac warranty is up in September this year, the HDD is failing and I just bought a 500gb replacement. If I took the iMac to an Apple store would they put the new drive in if I asked, or would they send it back to be repaired with a replacement 160gb drive?
     
  2. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #2
    Why not send it in with the faulty drive?
    Get Apple to replace the current faulty drive and then you swop it for the 500GB when you get it back?
    That way you'll have a working drive as back up instead of a faulty one at best or nothing at worst.
    :)
     
  3. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #3
    I'm watching a vid of some bloke replacing the HDD and it seems above me I think, so either Apple or an Apple certified fixer place will only be able to put the bigger drive in.
    How long would Apple take, I'm guessing it's not just a drop off, grab lunch, pick up job?
    I really don't know what to do. :eek:

    Bugger it: bullet bitten. Going to fork over 40 of my fine English dollarpounds to a repair centre. Just means I can't work till Friday now. Bloody Apple.
     
  4. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #4
    If you had a PC, it would be a much easier process


    :D:p;)
     
  5. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #5
    Everyones been saying that :eek: Macs for laptops, PCs for desktops from now on!
     
  6. The3nd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
  7. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #7
    For the gaming behemoth and workstation I can build for £900 a Mac Pro would be a lot more and not have a Geforce 295 or ATi 4870x2.
     

Share This Page