iMac Wifi issues.... Going insane. PLEASE help/input

Discussion in 'iMac' started by exileskimer, May 24, 2012.

1. exileskimer macrumors member

So my iMac has been working perfectly fine for two months now. It's the base model 2011. I started playing diablo 3 recently so the only logical explanation I can drum up is an overheated broken wifi card

All of a sudden my iMac started dropping wifi connection every minute about. I was running mountain lion so I was like ok let's wipe the iMac and go to lion. Fresh start. No go. Still drops.

Figured ok maybe it's my airport extreme. Completely redid my home network. And got a new airport extreme. No go.

Figured it was maybe uverse. Reset uverse completely. No go

None of my other devices... iPad, iPhone, android have any wifi problems at all

Just my iMac. I'm going insane. Can't figure this out for the life or me.

Could it be a bad wifi card?

----------

Also when it does work. Speed tests show it is only going about 1/20 of the network speed that all other devices get

2. nlew macrumors newbie

From reading your diagnostic steps, I think you were insane before your wifi issues.

3. exileskimer thread starter macrumors member

Lol. I did do normal troubleshooting steps before I tried all the extreme ones I listed lol.

Everything from resetting SMC to making new network locations....

Anyone have any thoughts?

4. LaWally macrumors 6502a

5. exileskimer thread starter macrumors member

Sometimes it will fix it, sometimes it won't. Regardless, the "fix" doesn't last for more than 60 seconds

6. forty2j macrumors 68030

forty2j

Is your network password protected?
    Did you use the same SSID or a new one in recreating the network?

One of the problems seems to have to do with keychain corruption.

7. exileskimer thread starter macrumors member

Currently its unprotected. I've tried protected

And remember I've completely restored the pc

8. LaWally macrumors 6502a