iMac woke by itself

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gorby, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. gorby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #1
    I've had it for I think, a good month now, and I sleep my iMac all the time.


    Well last night, my iMac was asleep, I fell asleep-- I woke up in the middle of the night and my iMac was awake...?

    I just sleeped it and went back to bed-- I still have no idea how it woke itself though. This is the only time it's happened (that I've 'caught' anyway). Any ideas?
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Anything connected (wirelessly even) that may turn it on? Try unplugging peripherals and turning off bluetooth...
     
  3. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #3
    Is your mac set to wake for network activities?
     
  4. gorby thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #4

    I don't think so (?) All I have is a USB cable in the back for my DSLR (not connected right now). Wireless internet, keyboard and mouse.


    It could be-- how do I check?

    This happened at around 5AM pacific btw


    edit- I just checked, and 'wake for ethernet network administrator access' is checked, should i uncheck that?
     
  5. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

  6. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #6
    If you think waking might be a recurring problem, you can uncheck it. I leave mine on.
     
  7. gorby thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #7
    Yeah, perhaps you are referring to the ''wake for ethernet network administrator access'' option, which is checked

    So... what does that mean?
     
  8. takao macrumors 68040

    takao

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Dornbirn (Austria)
    #8
    it might have also been a power outage .. i think the mac boots again after such a thing ...
     
  9. gorby thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #9

    I thought about that, but I don't think so--- my alarm clock usually starts flashing after an outage.

    Plus in the system prefs, there is an option for "restart automatically after a power failure" and it is unchecked (default)
     
  10. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #10
    Hard to tell. It's supposedly off-limits to ssh, but I don't know. It's there in case an administrator wants to check on your computer. I don't know the details, though.

    I wouldn't worry too much about it, unless it recurs.
     
  11. gorby thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #11
    There shouldn't be any other administrators aside from myself ... :eek: :confused:

    But anyway thanks for the advice :apple:
     

Share This Page