imac Wont Boot Passed Apple logo!!! Please help!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by polo3400, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. polo3400 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #1
    So basically, I don't know whats happened, My mac suddenly just stopped and i couldn't do a thing, so i unplugged the bastard, plugged it back in, started it up and its been roughly 30 minuites now and it just wont boot passed the apple logo :apple: :confused:

    I have the 21.5'' Late 2010 model With 12gbs of Ram installed with a Core 2 Duo.
    Keyboard and Mouse are wireless.
    I've tried Holding down CMD, OPTION, P + R but that doesn't work.
    Im willing to do a full restore to a backup because the only thing ill loose is a season or 2 of South park and Family guy :rolleyes: (I backed up about 2 days ago) - The only thing is I have no idea on how to restore my mac at the boot screen -.-

    I've also Tried Safe Boot But that failed :(

    I live in Dubai At the Moment so taking my Mac into a Store is basically....Impossible.

    ANY help at all is VERY VERY VERY much Appreciated - Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Your hard drive is probably dead. You will need to replace your hard drive and obtain an installation disc. At the least you need a disc to troubleshoot your machine.
     
  3. polo3400 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #3
    I have The Installation disk But dont know how to use it at the boot screen.
    Im pretty Sure the HD is okay because It has nevre once failed on my, and only about 2 hours ago it was working just fine
     
  4. Panch0 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    Insert the DVD
    Power down
    Power back on
    Hold down the Option key on the keyboard.

    Some keyboards don't seem to work as well as others. I have seen others post that repeatedly pressing the option key worked when holding it down didn't, but can't confirm that.
     
  5. polo3400 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #5
    I've Tried Both Methods And Neither have worked :(
    Have any other ideas that might work?
     
  6. SundayDuffer macrumors 6502

    SundayDuffer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #6
    try start up the iMac and press C right after. that will tell the mac to boot from the cd/dvd.
     
  7. Panch0 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    Beg borrow or buy a different keyboard...

    The Aluminum USB keyboard with num keys is the one I personally had trouble with, and I think if you check Apple's support forum that's pretty common. My solution was to connect the old white wireless keyboard (which was the one that came with that particular iMac).

    Not sure if a logitech, microsoft or other brand of keyboard would work for the start-up keys.
     
  8. polo3400 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #8
    I Tried Holding C in but again, Nothing happened.
    I also have numerous Keyboards lying around but non seemed to work :'(

    I Really wish this wasn't happening to me right now :(
     
  9. meerkat35 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    #9
    I had about the same problem but I managed to get the internal boards and stuff changed after more then 1 month of convincing Apple that there were problems with the parts :eek: now working very well like new.
     
  10. SundayDuffer macrumors 6502

    SundayDuffer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #10
    just press the c right after you start up....NOT press and hold.
     
  11. polo3400 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #11
    I've Tried but it Does the same as if starting up normally, Is anything special supposed to happen?
     
  12. SundayDuffer macrumors 6502

    SundayDuffer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #12
    hmmm....last resort...eject the disc, insert the disc, then leave the disc in the mac, unplug the power cable from the wall. Wait 1 min or so..plug the power back in.. Restart your computer and immediately press the c key. Good Luck.
     
  13. SundayDuffer macrumors 6502

    SundayDuffer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #13
  14. polo3400 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #14
    Tried. Failed
     
  15. polo3400 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #15
    Also I checked That Thread and It gave me nothing useful :'(
     
  16. polo3400 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #17
    Whats that? :eek:
     
  17. polo3400 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #18
    If I took it into an Apple RETAIL store, Would they Provide the same 'Repair' Options as a normal Apple Store?
     
  18. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #19
    You need to hold "option" as soon as the screen turns white. That'll show the Boot Manager so you can boot from the DVD. You've missed it when you see the Apple Logo.

    No idea why it wouldn't be working. Keep trying I say. My wireless keyboard misses sometimes, I just keep trying.
     
  19. polo3400 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #20
    I've Done That multiple times now, Choosing both 'Macintosh HD' and The install disk, Both however just endlessly load.

    I'm Stuck on what to do now.

    I also tried my HP Mouse and keyboard which do work with my mac as ive tested them in verbose mode.
     

Share This Page