iMac won't boot to OS

Discussion in 'iMac' started by armymom, Apr 27, 2007.

  1. armymom macrumors newbie

    armymom

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    Hi all,

    My name is Jo and I am new here so hope that I am in the right place...

    What I have here is an iMac that I can not get to boot up into the OS. I am running Panther 10.3.9 with 256MB ram. It goes to a black screen with Darwin/BSD (Localhost) Console Login. I tried loging in with my user name and password and it acts as if its going to load the OS, Goes clear to login window and then back to the black screen with that same Darwin/BSD. Like a dummy I thought maybe the network got messed up on it and I tried to install the CD that came with my package for internet..It is a comcast CD and now its stuck in there and I can't get it out..I tried to shut it down and reboot and then when it go to that black screen use the eject on my keyboard but still no luck..CD still in there and still can't get to my desktop...I have not sound or anything..I tired Holding down the Shift key while booting up but that didn't do anything either..Any help would be so appreicated...

    Thanks
    Hugs
    Jo
     
  2. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
  3. armymom thread starter macrumors newbie

    armymom

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    I was going to do that but I have a CD in the drive right now and can't get it out..I have tried to use the eject tab but it still will not pop out of there...Any idea's on how I can get it out of there...If I could get that CD out I could then do a reinstall...

    Thanks
    Hugs:eek:
    Jo
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Type "reboot" to restart the computer, and hold down the mouse button when the system chimes. Keep holding until the CD comes out.

    If that doesn't work, hold Cmd-Opt-O-F at the chime, and you'll get a different prompt. Type "eject cd" to get the CD out.
     
  5. armymom thread starter macrumors newbie

    armymom

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Thanks that work..I got the CD out and then tried to do a reinstall and it keeps coming back to that same black screen with
    Darwin/BSD (Localhost) Console Login. Any other idea's you can give me..I am not hearing any sound coming from this iMac not even the chime when holding down the mouse....Could this mean that the motherboard or something else is shot?

    Thanks
    Hugs
    Jo:(
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    Hold Cmd-Opt-O-F to drop into the prompt, then type:

    reset-nvram
    set-defaults
    reset-all

    The system should reboot and will hopefully chime. Once it does so, hold Option and you should get a screen with your hard drive and the CD. Click on the CD then click the arrow and you'll hopefully get the installer.
     
  7. armymom thread starter macrumors newbie

    armymom

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    Thanks but I am new to the iMac systems so don't know beans about them..I don't see no Cmd-Opt-O-F and not sure in which way I am to do this...Are you saying to hold down on all those keys..the keyboard I have is a slimline. So would you mind exsplaining to me what I am to do...I am thinking that the Cmd stands for command but there is no command on this keyboard just control. Sorry If I am becoming a pest here but I really do not understand....

    Thanks for all your help.

    Hugs
    Jo:confused:
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    Hmm, are you using a Mac or Windows keyboard? All Mac keyboards since about 1985 should have a Command (also know as Apple, Clover, Pretzel...) key and an Option (also known as Alt, Switch) key. You need to hold down all four keys (Command, Option, O and F) as soon as you turn on the system.
     
  9. armymom thread starter macrumors newbie

    armymom

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #9
    Its a mac keyboard...I bought this iMac from a friend and this keyboard came with it..Its one of them slimlines..I also have a reg apple keyboard and it don't have a command key on it either....They both have control keys but no command.Now I have a tab with the apple on it with a pretzel looking design on it so is that the command tab? I am guess now that it is and am feeling pretty dumb now..LOL...OK going to go hide my face and see if I can get this working and will get back to you...Again thank you so very much....

    Hugs
    Jo:)
     
  10. skinnylegs macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #10
    Don't worry. It's all good and yeah.....the Apple/pretzel key is the command key.
     
  11. armymom thread starter macrumors newbie

    armymom

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    Thank you..It worked and I am installing the OS again...OMG that was to easy after I understood...Again thanks for all the help..

    Hugs
    Jo:D
     

Share This Page