iMac Won't Load to Login Screen

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Pikabuddy, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. Pikabuddy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #1
    Hi, I've had my iMac (the newest model out) for about 8 months now, with 10.6.7. I installed Boot Camp Windows Vista about 1 month ago. I haven't had any problems since. Now, starting after a "required update upon restart" on the Vista's end, I cannot log into my Mac OSX. First, it was a grey bar under the apple logo, now it sits at the grey loading screen with the apple logo forever without any bar.

    I have tried Safe Mode, nothing.
    I have tried to boot from my install Disk. Nothing. No recognition of DVD or buttons pressed.
    I have tried to single user log into to access command files. Same as above.
    I have hard booted it, unplugging, replugging, nothing.

    Interestingly enough, I can hold down the option key and select which HD I want to load onto (Mac or Windows), and Windows will load just fine and handy and dandy...but not my OSX, which contains the most important files...


    What should I do now?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Pikabuddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
  3. Pikabuddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
  4. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #4
    Can you see your Mac partition from your Windows side?
     
  5. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #5
    Anyway, it sounds like something to do with booting (but not the actual hard drive) is f***ed, so try booting with rEFIt:

    http://refit.sourceforge.net/
     
  6. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    This.

    Have you installed Boot Camp 3.2 for Vista?

    I don't understand why you can't boot from the DVD (assuming it's the disc that came with your iMac which is the latest version and supports your hardware, it's the silver disc IIRC), are you sure it's the right one?
     
  7. Pikabuddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #7
    Yes, in Start > Computer. But I cannot check it for Errors/ETC. The window vanished when I click start.
     
  8. Pikabuddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #8
    What do you mean install BootCamp for Vista?

    And I'm using the DVD, Mac OSX Snow Leapard (which I bought to upgrade an older Mac), and every time I click on it after holding Option when I boot up, it sits at the apple logo forever.
     
  9. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    When you insert your Mac OS X SL dvd when booted into Windows it installs all the drivers for your Mac and "Boot Camp" which is really just an application that let's you adjust a few settings, etc., 3.2 is an upgrade for it.

    You can check if the BC app is installed: Control Panel > Boot Camp

    You said you can already see the Mac partitions, so I imagine this isn't a problem (probably shipped with 3.2, idk really)
    I see, funnily enough, I just had this problem. Used TechTool Deluxe on my iMac and it failed two tests (~Directory Structure, and ~Volume Structure) so I verified/repaired permissions, then verified the disk and it said it was corrupted... something about ~directory count / ~volume count, etc..

    It told me to boot up in OS X from the installation disc and repair the disk. Didn't try logging in to my normal partition but it got stuck on that Apple logo when trying to boot into the OS X 10.6 disc and wouldn't change.

    Had to boot into OS X 10.7 Lion which is on an external drive. Thought it was going to do the same thing but it didn't, and it said it successfully repaired the drive.

    If you can get in to OS X verify your disk. Maybe if you have another Mac you could install OS X onto an external drive? That's all I can think of.
     
  10. Pikabuddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #10
    I'm still really new to Macs, so what should I do? I do indeed have another mac, but its is the 2007 model. I do not have Lion OSX.
     
  11. G-Mo macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #11
    Lion isn't out yet, most people don't have it.

    Try booting the machine with the OS X disc in the drive and holding C while it boots.
     
  12. G-Mo macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
  13. Pikabuddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #13
  14. Pikabuddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #14
    Been there, done that. No recognition or effect.
     
  15. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    Ah, I see. Before you try the stuff below, I suggest you find the silver hardware disc which came with your iMac, it also has OS X on it but it's a version which has drivers for your iMac, i.e, the disc you're using may be a version of OS X before your iMac was released and thus won't be able to load it.

    Try booting from it. Make sure you get the one which was for your iMac though.

    It should look something like this (ignoring the text on the DVD): [​IMG]

    If that doesn't work I can try and explain how to install OS X onto an external drive like I did, do you have an external hard drive? Preferably an empty one or one without important data on it?
     

Share This Page