iMac won't logon without server connected.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by danielzink, Jul 4, 2011.

1. danielzink macrumors newbie

Hey all,

Uber-noob here.......

We've got an iMac here running OsX and we don't want to be tied to the server for everything.

Our IT guy fled town so we're left to fend for ourselves. If I disconnect the server from the desktop - we can't logon...either via our regular desktop logon - nor the admin logon...

If I connect the (RG6 ?) cable back up - after a minute or so I can log back into the desktop computer...

Any help would be appreciated !

Thanks !

Dan

2. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

Yikes.

Well, so the admin login you're talking about must be the admin for the network and not the computer. Your computer has to have a local admin account that can log on even while not connected to the network.

That said... If your account is an admin account you can set your account (or others as they log in...) to be a Mobile Account. You might want to do some googling about that, but you can find more in System Preferences > Accounts and try to make your account "mobile."

You need admin rights to do this.

3. danielzink thread starter macrumors newbie

Right.

At the initial login screen you can type your "regular" name and log onto the iMac or type in "admin" and that pwd and log into the server....

4. MrWillie macrumors 65816

MrWillie

Do you have admin rights ? If so, log in and unbind from the domain. If you ask how do I do that, please tell me what OSX version you are running...

5. danielzink thread starter macrumors newbie

Yes I do.

Yes - I do need an explanation :)

Mac OS X 10.5.8

Thanks !

6. danielzink, Jul 5, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2011

danielzink thread starter macrumors newbie

bumping this....really in a bad way here.....need help.....

7. peskaa macrumors 68020

peskaa

8. danielzink thread starter macrumors newbie

9. danielzink thread starter macrumors newbie

welp.