iMac won't start

Discussion in 'iMac' started by redgaz26, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. redgaz26 macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A341 Safari/528.16)

    This has just happened. Whilst doing some encoding a message suddenly appeared saying I had to restart. Everything had sort of froze. So I restart and get to the apple logo but then a grey screen comes down saying restart again and big lines of code appear.
    Straight away booked in for genius appointment but that's not till wednesday. Anyone know what's happened?it's a 24" iMac. 4 g ram. Only 4 months old.
     
  2. keysersoze macrumors 68000

    keysersoze

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    You have witnessed a kernal panic. It's likely hardware related. Possibly bad RAM or bad logic board. Since you've already scheduled the genius appointment, you've done really all you can do. You can pull out some RAM and see if that helps, but the genius will be able to help you the most at this point.
     
  3. redgaz26 thread starter macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A341 Safari/528.16)

    Would it be worthwhile phoning apple care to see if they can help over the phone??
     
  4. keysersoze macrumors 68000

    keysersoze

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NH
    #4
    It wouldn't hurt. They will probably have you do a number of basic things like zap the PRAM, and run the hardware diagnostic CD. You can probably check those things (and how to do them) by googling the web. If you want step-by-step help from a real voice, then they will be able to walk you through it. Unfortunately, I've never heard of a kernal panic that wasn't hardware related. It could be something stupid like a bad Airport card, but I've only seen it with a bad logic board. I'd suggest zapping the PRAM just for the thrill of trying to do something to help it. :) You will reset the NVRAM too while you are at it. Here are Apple's instructions that the Applecare guy would read to you:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379
     
  5. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #5
    Sounds like a hardware fault. Could be ram or disk. I would get Apple to look at it since it is still under warranty.
     
  6. redgaz26 thread starter macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A341 Safari/528.16)

    Well I just came home from work and the news ain't good. I turn on the mac and all I get is loud beeping noises!!!!!!!!
    Think I'll leave to the genius bar. Could this be total hardware failure?
     
  7. redgaz26 thread starter macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #7
    managed to get it running with the apple hardware disk ran it and it showed no problems, run tech tool deluxe and again no problems heres the log when i got back on, anyone notice anything???
    should i still take to the genius bar?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. redgaz26 thread starter macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #8
    sorry to be a pain but now getting this but the repair disk is greyed out?
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page