iMac XBox 360 in HD?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DMoose, Oct 7, 2007.

  1. DMoose macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    #1
    I've read a few posts on this subject, so sorry if i'm going over an old subject, but this is real important to me. I only have a small pad with room for one screen!

    I understand that using eye tv i can hook up my 360 to my new iMac without High-def. But surely someone has a way of making use of it's full HD-loveliness?!

    Please can someone come up with a solution..http://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/confused.gif
    :confused:
    Ciao for now.
     
  2. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Not possible, dude. Sorry.

    But maybe you can be the one to invent something that'll be able to do it (because the rest of us are too damn lazy to :D).
     
  3. DMoose thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    #3
    Me??...I can barely tie my shoelaces.....lol

    But does this mean we will never be able to even connect an external HD-DVD or Blu-ray drive? This seems to be a big oversight by Apple, i really can't understand why they didn't simply include a HD port. Unless they plan to release an expensive peripheral in the future.
     
  4. rallycars macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    #4
    The new 2400/2600 cards in the iMac are HDCP compliant and will be able to display video from external hd dvd and blu-ray drives probably using the usb 2 interface. I thought I read somewhere that the 7000 series nVidia cards of the previous generation iMacs might also work. I am assuming that the display in both models is also HDCP compliant. Don't expect HD optical video support before 10.5, but maybe it will be in 10.4.11. Hard telling, not knowing.

    If HD DVD and Blu-ray can transfer data fast enough over USB2, I don't see why someone couldn't manufacture other hardware to input 1920x1080 video using USB2 or firewire sometime in the future.
     
  5. suneohair macrumors 68020

    suneohair

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #5
    As the other poster said, this would be done over USB of FW. I don't see what the oversight is, there simply isn't a video INPUT. Never has been, probably never will be.

    Most people are inputting things into their iMac. The iMac itself is a computer. If you want to input things, you need another display. Just a word of caution, if you buy an ACD, make sure your 360 has HDMI, otherwise that won't work either.
     

Share This Page