iMac11,2 CPU upgrade?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by h4lp m3, Jun 27, 2015.

  1. h4lp m3, Jun 27, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2015

    h4lp m3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #1
    I have a Mid-2010 21.5" iMac and I want to upgrade the 3.06 i3 CPU to a 2.5GHz i5.

    Why not an i7? Because I just happen to have a Core i5-2400s on my desk that I took from a Mid-2011 iMac and I'm wondering if it's possible to upgrade the processors or if they're soldered to the logic board like some other iMacs.
     
  2. freeuser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    #2
  3. dtjay7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    N. CA
    #3
    I am going to upgrade my 3.06 i3 to the i5 680. I researched it and it seems that you need to use a processor that was used in the iMac originally by Apple. The i5 680 is the best CPU used in the 2010 21.5 iMac. I have read a lot of reports that indicate that that CPU works in the logic board, but other have not worked. I will be doing it this weekend.
     
  4. wmy5, Jul 5, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2015

    wmy5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    upstate NY
    #4
    I don't think upgrading to a dual-core i5 is worth it. If I were you, I would go for a i7 870, which should work fine according to this article:

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...-aluminum-processor-upgrade-instructions.html

    Form a dual-core to a quad-core with HyperThreading is a huge improvement.
     
  5. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #5
    The article you link to specifically states that i7 870 has proven not to work as a upgrade for "iMac "Core i3" 3.06 21.5" (Mid-2010)" likely due to its higher power requirement (95W as opposed to 74W) and that I5-680 is the fastest possible upgrade.

    OP's original suggestion with Core i5-2400s, will not work either, because it is sandy bridge generation chip (2011 iMac), not Nehalem.
     
  6. wmy5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    upstate NY
    #6
    Sorry I didn't read carefully. Then you are right, i5 680 is the fastest compatible option.
     
  7. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #7
  8. wmy5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    upstate NY
    #8
  9. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #9
    that's an odd decision. Why not just use the ATI Radeon 4670?
     
  10. h4lp m3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #10
    I've got the 2.5GHz i5, 24GB RAM and a 512GB SSD installed and it's pretty fast, but what about the video card? I'm not a gamer, but I do a little iMove and usually have anywhere from 5-20 YouTube tabs open in FireFox.

    Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 1.22.12 PM.png
     
  11. h4lp m3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #11
    By the way, it's a Mid-2011 now because I replaced the entire Logic Board.
     
  12. iMav macrumors 6502

    iMav

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, WI
    #12
    I know this is an old thread, but I wanted to follow up, specifically.

    Did you upgrade the entire logic board because the CPU upgrade didn't work? Or did you simply get a good deal on a full logic board that included the CPU??
     
  13. docdawning macrumors newbie

    docdawning

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    #13
    Yeah, I also would like to know.
     

Share This Page