Imac's graphics cards

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MacBH928, Jun 4, 2008.

  1. MacBH928 macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #1
    Hi everyone...
    i am buying new macs and I cant make my decision between the 2.8 and the 3.06 ghz....Every time i buy top of the line of computers but for basically browsing the net i dont think its right.

    I am looking to use illustrator, photoshop, and flash. Maybe edit video and create projects, but this is all for fun and hobby not professional work...

    so as I look at the specs, i figure that the specs 2.8 is not THAT less than 3.06...and for storage space I think i can always have external hard drive, yes?

    so I guess the only difference is ATI 2600 and Nvidia graphics card...
    I am looking forward to play games, but i am not graphic fanatic...

    so can any one tell me what I will be missing on if i get the ATI 2600 graphics card that comes along with the 2.8 Imac?

    btw, I have a question...
    can this machine run Crysis at full power? I mean this machine ill buy 6 months after the release of the game, if it cant run a 6 month old game at full power I think this is a joke!!
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    The ATI card is better for video work but the nVidia card is much better at gaming. My son's iMac with the ATI card runs Crysis at medium settings quite well. Crysis is one of the most demanding games out right now and only a fairly high-end gaming rig will run it at full speed.
     
  3. Fuzzbear macrumors regular

    Fuzzbear

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    #3
    I dont't think theres very many machines out there that CAN run crysis at full bore with everything turned on.

    I look at an imac as basically a laptop computer... it uses many of the same components to achieve its stunning form factor. If your going to use a Laptop or all in one as a gaming machine. Spend the most your willing to spend... all in ones / laptops have difficult if not IMPOSSIBLE to upgrade CPU/Video components. So what you buy is going to have to hold up as long as possible.

    You MIGHT consider getting a lower end iMac to use as your everyday workhorse... and then maybe spending $6 or $700 dollars on a custom built PC that can be easily upgraded to keep up with gaming.
     
  4. AppleMatt macrumors 68000

    AppleMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Sorry why not just get the 2.8GHz with the NVIDIA 8800 BTO upgrade? You can even upgrade the drive to 500GB, like the 3.06, and not come close to the price of the 3.06.

    You pay a massive premium for such a small GHz increase (206MHz = 0.2GHz), I really really wouldn't bother - investing that money into RAM will result in a better responsiveness payoff.

    BTW, My 2008 Octo 2.8GHz Mac Pro with 8800 can't run Crysis at full specs. It comes close. You get a hefty performance boost in Crysis by getting 64-bit Windows Vista.

    AppleMatt
     
  5. spcdust macrumors 6502a

    spcdust

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    That may be the case in the short term but surely as better drivers become available for the nVidia card one would hope it will eclipse the ATI card in its video performance?
     
  6. MacBH928 thread starter macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #6
    Well I never knew I could have the Nvidia graphic card as extra option!

    I am really looking for the long term, as this machine has been with me for six years now, if the ATI can survive with good performance that long its good. Currently I have the G4 flat panell 800mhz, i think it has NVIDIA GeForce2 MX.

    I am not making this dedicated gaming machine, as i am not a hardcore gamer, and i already own a 360 and wii. I am only looking at the option to be able to play some pc games in decent manner...obviousely if i wanted gaming pc it wont be mac.

    btw , drivers should be installed separately for videocards on the mac or does it come with the system update?
     
  7. AppleMatt macrumors 68000

    AppleMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    This is already happening, the 10.5.3 update brought the 8800 in line with the ATi for Core Image applications (where previously it lagged behind). It remains to be seen whether subsequent updates push this further.

    System updates include the latest graphic card drivers. Occasionally they are released stand-alone, but always through Software Update - you don't have to go hunting for them.

    AppleMatt
     
  8. sfroom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    #8
    The ATI HD 2600 PRO can play most games released to date, and will probably be able to play any game released in the next 6-8 months. HOWEVER, it can only play many of the games released within the last year at reduced resolution and lowered graphics settings.

    If you want to play games released a year from now with any level of comfort (with the exception of Starcraft 2, which isn't expected to be particularly graphically intensive), I would highly recommend getting the nVidia 8800. Even if you want to play games from the last year at native resolutions, the 8800 should be considered.

    If you are looking to save some money, and don't think you need the 8800, I would recommend getting a refurb 2.8 Ghz Extreme. You'll get a bigger hard drive, you can upgrade the ram to 4GB aftermarket, and still save $100.

    P.S. I don't think there's a commercially available machine for less than $3500 which can play crysis at full settings, 1920x1200.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Why even buy an iMac? When it's available the refurbished 2.8 GHz single processor Mac Pro runs US$1,999.
     
  10. 04texag macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #10
    My late 07 Imac, 24" is running games pretty well at 1920x1200 resolution with the ATI 2600. I upped the ram to 4 gb which helps.

    I've had success playing Age of Conan on decent settings at high resolution.

    The biggest thing is to get the latest drivers and CCC installed. This helped tremendously.
     
  11. sfroom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    #11
    Unless I'm reading it incorrectly, the Quad 2.66 w/ nVidia GeForce 7300 is available refurb for $1,999.

    The 7300 is inferior to both the ATI HD 2600 and the nVidia 8800 by a large margin, althought for general computing, the computer would be an excellent choice.
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    You are reading it incorrectly.
     
  13. sfroom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    #13
    Got it. You mean the BTO single processor Early 2008 Mac Pro with 2GB 800Mhz, 320 GB and ATI HD 2600 XT.

    Wow...I've never seen it on the refurb page (I check it often! Although I check the Canadian page). I don't know why anyone would buy a previous generation Mac Pro w/ 2.66 vs. 2.8, 7300 GT vs. 2600 XT, 1GB 667Mhz vs. 2GB 800 Mhz, and 250GB HD vs. 320GB HD for the same price!

    However, I was reading the refurb page correctly :p
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    I had a feeling you'd figure it out. When it is available on the Apple refurbished page the 2.8 GHz single processor, quad core Mac Pro is your best bet for US$1,999.

    It comes in cheaper then the high end iMacs (better deal then the previous Mac Pro as well) and you have the option to expand to your delight down the road.
     
  15. Phillyzero macrumors regular

    Phillyzero

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    #15
    Either way, is the ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO w/256 good enough to play your standard CPU games like CoD4 at highest settings?
     
  16. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    Except one come with a monitor and the other doesn't...;)
     

Share This Page