iMacs the ONLY "OFFICIAL" MAC for playing Final Fantasy XIV (Model list inside)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by urbanracer34, Feb 1, 2016.

  1. urbanracer34 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    #1
    So as you know, some of us have been waiting for the Final Fantasy XIV Mac Client to be put out again after its blunder last year, and using their requirements to base what to buy. The big part of the blunder was the performance on ALL Macs, as they use TransGaming's wrapper.

    Square Enix has posted the "Official" specs for the Mac Client, and it is clear that iMacs are the preferred machine, make that the only machine.

    CITING http://na.finalfantasyxiv.com/lodestone/topics/detail/dc4902d6ad9e2ad50fb991a3dc82dd284b405a2f

    Applicable models
    Model Graphics Card Recommended Preset
    iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015) AMD Radeon R9 M395 1600x900 High (Mac)
    iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015) AMD Radeon R9 M390 1600x900 High (Mac)
    iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014) AMD Radeon R9 M290 1600x900 High (Mac)
    iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014) AMD Radeon R9 M295X 1600x900 High (Mac)
    iMac (27-inch, Late 2013) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 775M 1600x900 Middle (Mac)
    iMac (27-inch, Late 2013) NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M 1600x900 Middle (Mac)
    iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2013) NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 1600x900 Middle (Mac)
    iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2013) Intel Iris Pro 1600x900 Standard (Mac)

    Recommended screen resolution 1600x900
    * Running at a resolution above 1920 x 1080/1920 x 1200 will result in negative framerate performance.

    Also:
    * While we have confirmed operation of the game is possible on the MacBook Pro, due to extraordinary heat generated during gameplay, we have taken the precautionary measure of not adding the machine to the list of applicable models. Your understanding is appreciated.

    I guess I'll be buying a more powerful system as a result of this.
     
  2. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #2
    This is ridiculous. But thanks for posting this update. I actually thought Square might just abandon the entire project, but even though they didn't, I can't even run it with my 2012 iMac according to their list of supported Macs. :(
     
  3. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #3
    By the way, is the Mac client only available as a download from Square directly from their website? They still aren't going to offer a Steam version for Mac, are they?
     
  4. urbanracer34 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    #4
    I can't even run it with my MBA, or even a new MacBook Pro, which I was hoping to buy sometime in the future. Guess I'm buying a PC gaming laptop instead, as my 5770 in my gaming pc isn't cutting it either.

    AFAIK, Square store directly for now. I would advise everybody to AVOID Steam version of FFXIV, as it has been known to cause some trouble for lots of people with compatibility. Unless you already bought from steam, then that's a different ball of wax.

    Hope I've been a bit of help at least.
     
  5. Talkingtoaster macrumors regular

    Talkingtoaster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    You honestly expect it to run on a MBA?!
     
  6. urbanracer34 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    #6
    No, I was joking on that one. :p
    I can barely run WoW on mine, let alone FFXIV.
     
  7. Talkingtoaster macrumors regular

    Talkingtoaster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I wasn't sure lol I did think you might be, as it made me laugh!
     

Share This Page