iMac's wifi

Discussion in 'iMac' started by zalex, Mar 3, 2013.

  1. zalex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    #1
    Have the iMac wifi problems been resolved? I remember lots of people complaining about their iMac's wifi issues (disconnecting/poor signal etc). I want to buy a new iMac to replace my G5 but hesitant because of possible wifi issues. Thanks.
     
  2. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #2
    i don't read any complains about wifi..only in strange situation i think because the buidings and the walls i think
     
  3. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #3
    My wife's iMac occasionally has a problem seeing wifi networks when in a new location.
     
  4. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
  5. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #5
    Been using my iMac for well over a year now and only had a case of wifi problems due to a piece of ***** router. I haven't had a drop out in weeks and my machine is on 24/7.
     
  6. Kezman50, Mar 4, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013

    Kezman50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    #6
    Had my late 2012 imac about 2 weeks now. So far not one drop out, full signal and generally performs as fast as I could hope for with my 4-6 meg connection. I was wondering, before delivery if I was going to have issues given one or two negative wi fi posts I'd read but so far none of it. I'm in the uk and have the bt home hub 3, which for me has not dropped out once either in the 4 months I've had it! So the imac and this router seem to be a good marriage.
     
  7. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #7
    @kezman: do you have 21.5 or 27 imac version? I have a dlink router, my macbook air seems to work ok with it, i hope my imac will work too
     
  8. one1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    #8
    No they have not, but it is software not hardware so buy the iMac if you want the iMac. The wifi issue is widely acknowledged here on the forum and the rest of the interweb so I can only guess it is apple employees who always act like there is no problem when there are 5 threads about it on the first 2 pages.

    Bottom line is that with the right router, right settings, and if you hold your mouth just right the wifi issue seems to disappear for the most part. It's a software conflict though in Lion/MT Lion, as Snow Leo doesn't have the issue.

    I believe Apple concentrated so much on their mobile system and IOS integration that they forgot people still own desktops and there is where the wifi issue is at with how the iMac wakes up.
     
  9. Kezman50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
  10. Baconstripss macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    #10
    I've been having some issues with my late high end fusion drive 21.5 inch.

    The problem first occurred 2 month after i bought the iMac. Was having really really slow wifi speeds, although the signal strength was full. I called my internet supplier who confirmed that everything was ok, after he had started a monitoring of our connection. He even told me that he'd never experienced any problem with the kind of router we have, when pairen up with Apple products.

    I called Apple tech support after the problem periodically showed up roughly every second day. Was measuring speeds of 500 kbit download while my macbook pro would make it to 7-8 mbit when standing right beside my iMac.
    We tried some different things, but nothing seemed to be working. He's last recommendation was to hand it in at an apple store. Although I could end up with paying 500-600 kr (80-110$) if the fault in the machine couldn't be recreated at the workshop.
    The tech supporter's final excuse, IF the wifi on the machine wasn't defect, was that "the machine was in a bad spot with too much wireless interference".. But every other device works perfectly there.

    So status is right now I have a really really unstable machine. Fortunately the problem haven't occurred since I called the rep., which have been one week now.
     
  11. gzigoris macrumors member

    gzigoris

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    Middle MI.USA
    #11
    I thought I would throw this in for discussion. Most small appliances in the home use RF in the 2.4Mhz range and so do most routers. Those experiencing interference or dropping signals should move to a dual band rounter and use the 5.0 mhz band.

    We had the experience of using the micro wave and it would kill anything we were doing on our iPads. Upgraded to a dual band and problem went away.

    George
     

Share This Page