Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CarlosJorge

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 10, 2011
So i'm hello in first place, i got mountain lion a 1 week ago, and i keep checking the activity monitor and the Image Capture Extension(process) is always running, even if i force quit, well i don't have any printers, scanners or something like that, it's really annoying, is it normal? it keeps appearing even if i quit it, please i would a appreciate a suggestion on what should i do, or if it's even normal.

Last edited by a moderator:

saotomefirst

macrumors regular
Aug 16, 2012
Rio de Janeiro
Hi there Carlos

First of all, I'm also relatively new to the Mac, so it's probable that there is a better answer to your question.

Well, as far as I know, there is a new function under Mountain Lion printing that allow you to print anything to a PDF file. Maybe because of this the Image Capture extension is always on?...

justperry

macrumors G5
Aug 10, 2007
I'm a rolling stone.
Well, as far as I know, there is a new function under Mountain Lion printing that allow you to print anything to a PDF file. Maybe because of this the Image Capture extension is always on?...

Wrong, this has already been there for a while, I am on 10.5.8 and it's there.

----------

So i'm hello in first place, i got mountain lion a 1 week ago, and i keep checking the activity monitor and the Image Capture Extension(process) is always running, even if i force quit, well i don't have any printers, scanners or something like that, it's really annoying, is it normal? it keeps appearing even if i quit it, please i would a appreciate a suggestion on what should i do, or if it's even normal.

Do you have any USB stick connected or or card reader, even a card inside a mac's internal card reader could be the cause.
But, it might always be active, don't know since I don't have ML.

CarlosJorge

macrumors newbie
Original poster