Imagine 2 iPad Mini Models

Discussion in 'iPad' started by WilliamLondon, Oct 6, 2012.

1. WilliamLondon macrumors 68000

WilliamLondon

Consider Apple releases this product with 2 models, one aimed squarely at a market that wants smaller *and* cheaper (competing with the current 7" tablets), and the other aimed squarely at the market that wants smaller *and* premium. Perhaps an iPad Mini and iPad Mini-X.

One could be a slimmed down iPad 2, same screen resolution no retina display aimed at keeping costs down (no 3G or LTE), with a price tag that reflects that. The other has retina display, faster processor, better connectivity and other product features I can't imagine (I'm not a product manager) that would make this version appealing to an audience looking for something better than what's out there, and willing to pay the premium Apple price tag. Both markets and both sets of needs would be met, and that would be something that would warrant not only a big launch but a launch that justified having an event for this product only.

Wouldn't that be good? Possible, or just simply improbable?

2. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater

Improbable. Apple just doesn't roll that way. :apple:

3. urkel macrumors 68030

You mean like having an iPad that starts at $499 and goes up to $829?

These spec differences can be differentiated in price points so separate name classes is unnecessary and confusing.

4. Night Spring macrumors G5

Night Spring

Exactly. Having two screen sizes is already a lot of choices. I can imagine someone who's never used a tablet walking into an Apple store thinking he'd give this tablet thing a try, seeing two sizes, and unable to decide which one is right for him, walk out without buying any. So having even more variations? Just no way. In fact, if Apple did such a thing, that would cause me to hop on the "Apple is going down without Steve Jobs" bandwagon.

5. Fattytail macrumors 6502a

Why couldn't this be possible?