iMail replying to emails from the wrong email account

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by grholden, Mar 25, 2012.

1. grholden macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I wondered if you could offer any assistance with the following issue that I have.

I have 3 email accounts set up in iMail: 1) my gmail personal account; 2) my work email (that runs through gmail (it is a school account, I'm a teacher); 3) my University email that is run through a Microsoft Exchange server.

No issues with 3) at all.

I can start messages and send from whichever account I specify, that's not an issue. However, when someone emails me to my work account (2), when I reply it looks as though it will be sent from my work email, but actually ends up going from my personal (1) email!?

Really, really confused!

I am using both as IMAP, does this have anything to do with it? Both are using the same port number, does that have anything to do with it?

Thanks for any help / suggestions you can give.

2. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

The MacOS X bundled email client is Mail, not iMail. IMail is a Windows-based email server.

As to your problem, it appears as though you do not have your university outgoing mail server configured properly to access it from outside your university domain. Mail falls through to a SMTP server that is properly configured, which happens to be the SMTP server for your personal account.

My work email is also on an Exchange Server. It can be accessed outside its domain only by the Outlook Web Access webmail client. Apparently, you can access your incoming mail from outside your university domain. You need to determine if it is even possible to access outgoing mail the same way. If you can, then you need the proper configuration settings to do so. Only your university's IT staff can give you this information. That is if the university does not have a tech support web page.

3. LaWally macrumors 6502a

I'm going to assume you mean Mac Mail.