iMail - Won't Let Me Make An Account.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Cerizzle, May 2, 2009.

  1. Cerizzle macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    So im about 3 and 1/2 months new to my Macbook. I tried to get a .mac email address in iMail. And it just wont let me make one. I followed all the instructions and nothing happened.

    Help is wanted.
     
  2. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #2
    iMail (most commonly know as MacMail) is an email program that works with POP3 and IMAP email accounts.

    If you have a gmail account, just type in your email address into the new account dialog and it sets it up for you.

    .mac is no longer made, it is now MobileMe.

    If you want to make a new MobileMe account, you have to subscribe ($99 a year i think) to mobile me, and get the email account as well as all the other services.

    look at me.com
     
  3. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #3
    What do you mean you tried to get a .mac account. Do you already have one registered?
     
  4. Cerizzle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    No, i wanted to make one. But since i found out its only in MoblieMe, im kinda mad. :mad:
     
  5. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #5
    MobileMe and .mac are pretty much the same service... MobileMe is just better.
     
  6. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #6
    It's commonly known as Mail, as that what's called.

    You can't get an @mac.com email address any more.
     
  7. Cerizzle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    I have an hotmail.com, @live.com, account. Can i use it in iMail and how do i set it up?
     
  8. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #8
    Yup
    Just make sure you set it up just like I have in the pictures.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Cerizzle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #9
    For the outgoing part, i heard you have to type "smtp.live.com" there. In yours it just says Hotmail (Offline). How do I do that part?
     

Share This Page