IMEI SIM Unlock and iOs 6.X.X

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Enigmafan420, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #1
    So I paid for an IMEI unlock for my iPhone 4S. Worked fine on 5.1.1.

    When I restored to 6.1.2, iTunes said "Congratualtions, your iPhone is unlocked:.

    However, inserting my Rogers SIM into my AT&T iPhone is giving me a "no service" error. According to the online IMEI checkers, the phone is indeed unlociked.

    Any ideas?

    :confused:
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Have you rebooted the phone with the sim in it ?

    I would try a clean restore, set up as new, do not restore to backup.
    Then immediately try using the sim to activate or make a call.

    If it doesn't work you have a hardware issue or sim gone bad.
     
  3. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #3
    Have not done a "set-up as new" option, though iTunes did say phone was unlocked.

    I do not think it is a hardware issue, having the same problem with my Daughter's 4S which also had an IMEI unlock performed on it.

    The directions for the unlock say have no SIM in the phone. I think what you are saying is have the "foreign" SIM in when restoring?

    Thanks!
     
  4. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #4
    Hmm :(

    So I restored with the Rogers SIM in the slot. Still won't work. It is TRYING to. It searches for quite a bit of time but won't connect.

    Again, iTunes said "Congratulations, your phone is unlocked" and even showed my Canadian Phone number the first time.

    So then I restarted iTunes with NO SIM. Still nothing.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  5. Am3r1ca16 macrumors 6502a

    Am3r1ca16

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    #5
    i had this same problem with an old iphone 4s that i factory unlocked.

    Never got it to work so i sold it.
     
  6. dextr3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #6
    If iTunes is showing you it is unlocked, you are unlocked and should have nothing to do with the software side.

    If a restore + setup as new with the foreign sim did not work, I suggest a different sim. Do you have other sims to test out the phone's unlock? I would suggest that first, if not, you can always take it into apple and see what diagnosis they say.
     
  7. Xenomorph macrumors 65816

    Xenomorph

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis

Share This Page