iMessage doesn't work without a camera???

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by rman726, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. rman726 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #1
    I use iPhone Configuration Utility to disable my camera due to work. And I couldn't figure out why iMessage wasn't "activating". Then I saw some other posts on Apple's website from June about people disabling Facetime having errors. So I figured I would try and enable my camera, and it worked. But when I disabled it again, it went back to not working. WTF? Why the hell would I need a camera for this to work? :confused:
     
  2. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #2
    why do you disable your camera? that just makes no sense
     
  3. rman726 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #3
    Because I can't have a camera at work.
     
  4. jwingfie macrumors 6502a

    jwingfie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    #4
    Yeah, a lot of companies do not allow cameras on property.

    I assume that SMSs still send when the camera is turned off?
     
  5. rman726 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #5
    Yeah SMS's work fine. Hopefully Apple fixes this, so that I can use iMessage when I'm at work...
     
  6. jwingfie macrumors 6502a

    jwingfie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    #6
    That's really weird. I was thinking maybe it deactivated apps that directly interact with the camera, but that wouldn't make sense for SMS to work and not iMessage. I'm stumped.
     
  7. 808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Why not just cover the camera lens with some tape or a sticker, then you can use iMessage without issue.
     
  8. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #8
    But if you can easily enable/ disable it.. How is there any difference? Just curious what kind of company do you work for? FBI? CIA?
     
  9. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    Um, but how will anyone know that you've got your camera active?
     
  10. PsyOpWarlord macrumors 6502

    PsyOpWarlord

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #10
    Where I work (USAF) just disabling in software or covering it is not enough. The camera has to be physically removed or the lens has to be damaged to the point it's forever unusable.
     
  11. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #11
    Wow dude, thats intense. Whats your job exactly anyway?
     
  12. plexdk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #12
    alot of companies are like this. I'm in the IT business, and cam's are a no go because of sensible information everywhere.
     
  13. davidjearly macrumors 68020

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #13
    If he tells you, he will have to kill you and your family. :eek:
     
  14. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #14
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Well the camera icon is on the iMessage input line. Being able to send a photo or video or snap a picture to send right away is a part of iMessage.

    Does sound like they need to tweak it a bit but I suspect the camera integration with iMessage is what causes the problem.
     

Share This Page