iMessage not syncing?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Planey28, Aug 17, 2014.

  1. Planey28 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    Greater Birmingham, UK
    #1
    In the past few days iMessage has stopped syncing properly for me on the public beta, usually when waking my mac from sleep it will pull in all the messages I've sent from my phone but now it doesn't do that until I send a new message. I've tried signing out of iMessage and back in but nothing seems to be fixing it.
     
  2. Koolaid74 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    #2
    I'm having the same issues. When I log off of iMessages on both the iPhone and the MBP, then log back in, then the missing messages will populate on the device that was missing before. This started a few weeks ago. Annoying. I'm hoping this is a recent failure and not a permanent issue with my devices.
     
  3. kappaknight macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #3
    Same here. It populates on the Mac randomly, and out of order.
     
  4. Captain.Slow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Location:
    Chester, England
    #4
    Go into the Messages Preferences on the Mac and ensure that your iMessage account is active. If it has (inactive) next to it, then it should just be a matter of entering the password for the Apple ID and hitting Sign In.

    I've had to do this on the last three DP's to get it working again.
     
  5. Planey28 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    Greater Birmingham, UK
    #5
    I'm signed in on iMessage, it seems to be something server side thats being worked on as it worked perfectly for most of yesterday, but today its been all of the place again.
     
  6. TonyC28 macrumors 65816

    TonyC28

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    This has been happening for me on Mavericks for a while. It used to work perfectly but for the last few months it's been barely usable. On an Apple Support forum they tell me it's a server issue and didn't offer a solution.
     

Share This Page