iMessage only accepts one line at a time

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by westie3130, Sep 19, 2016.

  1. westie3130 macrumors newbie

    westie3130

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    #1
    When typing a new Imessage, it only accepts one line at a time in body. I have to go back and type another line and then send. Am I doing something wrong? Thanks.
     
  2. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #2
    Can you clarify a little bit more?
     
  3. westie3130 thread starter macrumors newbie

    westie3130

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    #3
    When I'm composing an iMessage, if it goes to 2 lines, when I click send, only the first line is sent. I have to add the second line in a new iMessage and send.
     
  4. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #4
    Oh. That's not suppose to happen. Is it only iMessage or regular text messages(green bubbles) as well?
     
  5. westie3130 thread starter macrumors newbie

    westie3130

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
  6. Rok73 macrumors 65816

    Rok73

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #6
    Sounds like something is wrong from the phone provider side.
     
  7. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #7
    What do you mean by "body"?
     
  8. mpavilion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Location:
    SFV, CA, USA
    #8
    Only tangentially related -- did messages used to send when you hit "Return"? Since the iOS 10 update, I've missed sending a few messages b/c I hit "Return," expecting them to send, but they didn't (only a line break was added)... but I can't remember if it was always like this.
     
  9. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #9
    They would send when you hit the send button basically, not the return button on the on-screen keyboard.
     
  10. mpavilion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Location:
    SFV, CA, USA
    #10
    Weird, I wonder why my instinct now is to try to do that (maybe because the "Send" button has changed / gotten smaller).
     
  11. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #11
    Well, I think it used to be the actual word "Send" that you would tap on, while now it's a circle with an arrow in it.
     
  12. mpavilion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Location:
    SFV, CA, USA
    #12
    Yeah, that must be it. They made the "Night Shift" toggle huge, and reduced the target area for "Send" button... I wouldn't mind if they rebalanced those a bit... ;)
     

Share This Page