iMessage outage

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by AlphaVictor87, Oct 12, 2012.

  1. AlphaVictor87, Oct 12, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2012

    AlphaVictor87 macrumors 6502a

    AlphaVictor87

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO
    #1
    Is anyone else today experiencing an iMessage outage?

    I have a 4s running iOS 6 and i'm on AT&T and it just decided to go out around 9am central time, so about 2 hours ago. I've done a hard reset on my phone, i've reset network settings.

    I've turned iMessage off and on.

    Now it's just sitting there at "Waiting for Activation..." underneath the On/Off switch in settings.

    Hope this is more than just a personal issue on my phone.

    EDIT: oh yes i'm in St. Louis (not that is right below my avatar or anything haha)
     
  2. SuperSnake2012 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    iMessage has been working fine for me here in Pennsylvania. It's working on my phone as well as my Mac.

    Edit: Running on Sprint as well.
     
  3. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #3
    Working in NJ, I've been iMessaging on my iPhone and Mac all morning.
     
  4. AlphaVictor87 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    AlphaVictor87

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO
    #4
    Ha this was just a problem with my phone. Apparently AT&T pushed out a silent network update to my phone and my phone went crazy because it didn't accept them right.

    Had to turn it off, leave it off for 60 seconds and then turn it back on.

    How about that...:confused:
     
  5. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #5
    A silent network update, which affected only your iPhone, on AT&T's network?

    Ok.
     
  6. AlphaVictor87 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    AlphaVictor87

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO
    #6
    im just telling you what they told me. I don't care really what happened but whatever it was, turning it off for 60 seconds then on again fixed it. And yes it is possible for something to affect a single phone.
     
  7. StumpyBloke macrumors regular

    StumpyBloke

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Wow!! :/
     

Share This Page