IMHO: iPhone 4 reception is a software bug, not design flaw

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Peabody, Jun 26, 2010.

1. Peabody macrumors regular

OK, like many others here I can systematically re-create the iPhone 4 dropped call "death grip" issue. Woo - free bumper, $170 gift card and pony for me right? Eh, no.

"...but, it's a design flaw in the external antenna in the iPhone 4, right?"

No! It's a flaw in iOS 4.0 (yes, read carefully, "point" (.) - "oh" (0) ).

"You're full of it, are you an engineer? Didn't think so!", "YouTube or it didn't happen!"...

Nope, I'm not an engineer, nor do I have the ability to show the interweb my very unscientific, yet I believe, well founded theories. I bet a nickel that this is a software issue in iOS4, not a flaw with the iPhone 4 hardware. Why? Because I live in an area where I'm about equal distance (as the crow flies) between 3 AT&T towers and have lived here since long before we even knew that the iPhone existed as a twinkle in Steve's eye. For a visual reference, draw a simple triangle and then place a dot in the middle. That's how I'm situated for this story - roughly 2 miles from each tower. How handy, huh? Possibly, read on if you'd like.

Since the day I moved into my house I've had multiple AT&T phones, from Motorola to Apple, and even some Blackberry hardware in between. Once a "long, long time ago" Apple released the iPhone 3G on July 11, 2008. Amazingly enough there was outrage by those early adopters about dropping calls and unreliable 3G service! On August 18, 2008 (38 days later) Apple release iOS 2.0.2 which pretty well cured this issue. I was one of the ones affected by dropped calls, no signal, etc. during those days (well, most of them - I didn't get my 3G until August 2nd). Before I had the iPhone 3G I was perfectly content and happy with the performance of my original iPhone since June 29, 2007. EDGE may have been slow, but dang it was reliable!