iMove with 2 monitors?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by adamvk, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. adamvk macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #1
    Is it possible to use iMovie with 2 displays?

    I just bought a MiniDisplayPort-DVI cable so I can use my external monitor, and I'm just wondering if I will be able to use iMovie on both my external and MBP screen.

    Thanks.

    Also, and multiple screen "tricks" or helpful hints/advice?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    You could enlarge the ONE iMovie window via the resize corner on the bottom right of the iMovie window.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    Hmm, Ok thats what I feared.

    I was hoping I could have all of the clips on one screen, and the preview windo w on the other screen or something like that.

    If anyone else knows away, please tell me. :)
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    That might be possible, but iMovie is a ONE window application so you can only resize vertically.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    You might take a look at Final Cut Express if you want a two monitor video editing solution.
     
  7. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    I would buy it if it was newer, but Final Cut Express 4 is currently 3 years old, and doesn't even support 1080p. I refuse to pay $200 for that.
     
  8. tooz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #8
    Try this OP:

    (In iMovie) Window -> Viewer on secondary display. ( The option is only there when another monitor is present)
     
  9. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    I love you!!!

    That's exactly what I wanted to do, thank you.
     

Share This Page