iMovie 10 - how do I add markers?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Doc Horrorshow, Sep 9, 2015.

  1. Doc Horrorshow macrumors member

    Doc Horrorshow

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I've been told pressing the 'M' adds a marker. It doesn't. I need to mark a particular moment in my timeline, why isn't this a simple process?
     
  2. Doc Horrorshow thread starter macrumors member

    Doc Horrorshow

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Oh and if somebody can tell me how do I see my audio soundtrack for each clip? (Please see attached screenshot). Seriously this version of iMovie is so un-intuitive!
    Screen.jpg
     
  3. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #3
    Markers should work by dragging your timeline to the point where you want to insert the marker and hitting M on your keyboard. Here is a link to a video that explains it. I have also posted a screenshot to show it. Your audio is possibly hidden and can be shown by clicking on the film icon in the far right center of your screenshot. This will open a small menu allowing you to check the box on Audio: Show Waveforms. This should allow your audio to show. Or you can go Menu>View>Show Waveforms. Here is a link to a video explaining it. Posted screenshots to show you. Hope this helps you.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Doc Horrorshow thread starter macrumors member

    Doc Horrorshow

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Thanks, that's
    Many thanks, that's very useful. I'm stuck tho, cos my screen is showing the timeline under a central larger preview window (as per my screenshot earlier), can you tell me how do I change the screen to the layout shown in your screenshot?
     
  5. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #5
    Just double-click on one of your clips in the timeline. Should show it the way my screen is laid out.
     
  6. Doc Horrorshow thread starter macrumors member

    Doc Horrorshow

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Thanks but still nothing, here's my screen. I'm double-clicking the one outlined in yellow to no avail :-(
     
  7. firedept, Sep 9, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2015

    firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #7
    It looks like you have not created an Event as of yet if I am correct. The additional window I am showing is the Event window. It looks like you have just imported the video into your Timeline. If that is the case, you will not be able to see the Event window. You must create an Event first, then add the clips to the Event.

    Here is a great half hour video on the basics of iMovie. Take the time to watch it. It will be really helpful to you. iMovie is not as intuitive as it used to be. Version 10 on up is a lot different than past versions. There are literally thousands of decent YouTube video tutorials to help you. Only a suggestion. Please do not take this in the wrong way.
     
  8. Doc Horrorshow thread starter macrumors member

    Doc Horrorshow

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #8
    You're a gent. I shall try just that. Thanks again.
    DH
     
  9. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #9
    You are welcome and I hope this all helps. Please do not hesitate to ask though if you get stuck. Many experienced users of iMovie here at MacRumors.
     
  10. Doc Horrorshow thread starter macrumors member

    Doc Horrorshow

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Hi, I've cracked the editing side of things with your help but I'm now trying to share my files to "File" in ProRes quality but am getting the error message "Cannot export file". It's for burning to a BD disk so I need the best quality, can you offer any suggestions?
     
  11. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #11
    Have not personally run into this problem myself. But from what I have researched it could be a couple of things. It could be the way you have it Titled. Try using a simple title without any hyphens or dashes, just straight type. Could also be that you do not have enough room on your HDD, if it is a large export. Hopefully some other members can offer you some other suggestions.
     
  12. StoneJack macrumors 6502a

    StoneJack

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    #12
    I found iMovie X to be a brilliant piece of software. Its more usable than Final cut X, and its quite close in its abilities.
     

Share This Page