iMovie '11: buggy piece of *****

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Carl Sagan, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. Carl Sagan macrumors 6502a

    Carl Sagan

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Location:
    The Universe
    #1
    Anyone else having an issue with i11? Mine is up to date but keeps crashing, can't import any video without it crashing. Just uninstalled and reinstalled to see if that helped and now it won't even fully launch, it opens then closes leaving me with the 'report to Apple' error screen...:mad:
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What Mac OS X version do you run? Can you post the Crash Report?
     
  3. Carl Sagan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Carl Sagan

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Location:
    The Universe
    #3
    Running Lion, not near my laptop right now but will post up one when I am. This is very frustrating, iMovie is a joy to use and very powerful for such a simple consumer level video editing app...
     
  4. sigamy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    NJ USA
    #4
    Yes, I've been in the same boat for a few months.

    After reading various threads it seems that some folks have corrected iMovie issues by removing third party codecs, specifically 3ivx.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4038650?start=0&tstart=0

    I didn't have this codec but I did remove some old Flip4Mac codecs and I seem to have more stability now.
     
  5. Carl Sagan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Carl Sagan

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Location:
    The Universe
    #5
    Not running any codecs that I'm aware of...really annoyed with this!
     
  6. palmharbor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #6
    imovie 6.0.3

    I use imovie 6.0.3 with Lion as it is intuitive as the new one IS NOT.
    I just hate import to iDVD sometimes it does not take and after 3 hours, it says an error has occured..So you delete some scenes and try again and three hours later..an error has occured. so then U try a different brand dvd and three hours later...an error has occured. We are all supposed to be in the Cloud now so we do not need dVD's say the Head Geeks at Apple.
     

Share This Page