iMovie HD image quality

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Filmschooljefe, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. Filmschooljefe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #1
    I'm working on importing a VHS into iMovie 6 HD to burn it to DVD. But when I import the VHS I get a weird filter over the new clip that is being imported. The quality is bad and the images are really black. I am using a capture card hooked up to my VHS player and then to my computer through firewire. Could the card be going bad? I have tried different VHS players and different tapes but nothing seems to be fixing it. Any ideas?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Screenshots and the name and model of the capture device would be nice.
    Also what Mac (specs) do you use?

    Btw, the image quality in the preview monitor of iMovie does not show the full quality.

    ANd VHS only has a physical resolution of 320 x 240, DV has 720 x 576 (PAL).
     
  3. Filmschooljefe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #3
    The capture device is a Canopus ADVC 110

    Using an iMac running leopard. 2 gig ram

    And its not the quality that I'm really worried about its the black filter that seems to be in place.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. huntercr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #4

    My guess is macrovision. When you power up the Canopus, press and hold the "Input select" button for 15 seconds. This will turn off Macrovision for *some* ADVC-110 units. ( this setting will be undone on the next power off/on so you'll have to do it again )

    If that doesn't work, you're out of luck.

    Also, make sure your dip switches are set correctly on the ADVC-110... ( below is appropriate for for US/Canada NTSC )

    1 ON
    2 OFF
    3 OFF
    4 OFF
    5 ON
    6 OFF
    7 OFF

    Are you using Svideo, or Composite? Try swapping out the cables.
    But really it's probably macrovision IMHO
     
  5. Filmschooljefe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
  6. huntercr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #6
    I'm glad! Just our of curiosity...Which thing fixed it?
     
  7. Filmschooljefe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #7
    The Macrovision reset

    also, my dip switches were not as you had listed them so i changed them to your specs
     

Share This Page