imovie help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by 1930artdeco, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. 1930artdeco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #1
    Hello,

    First time poster here and I think I am posting in the right spot, if not please move it to correct spot. I am working with a museum to jump start their veterans interview program. We have a G3 (running OS 10.3) with a 1.9 GB HD. I am trying to use imovie vers. 3 I believe (2003-2005).

    The trouble that we are having is the camera that I am using is a 1997ish Canon D.V. camcorder (XL 1A) that only records in high resolution. I also cannot seem to get the computer to upload the video in a lower resolution format. At this point I can import no more than about 8-10 mins. and the HD shows full.

    My question is how do I upload in a lower resolution so that I can tape a full hour and then burn to a disk? Is there a way to restructure the HD to 'create' more memory? I am not a computer wiz by any stretch but I can follow directions. So any help will be very much appreciated.

    Mike
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    That camera is an SD camera and does not record in HD, but since it records on a Mini DV tape and iMovie stores the video using the DV codec, 1 sec of video will approx. take 3 MB/s, 13 GB/hr.
    If you really want to use that Mac, either invest in an external Firewire 400 HDD to connect to the iMac* to get more storage.
    Since you didn't tell us what exact model your have, we can only guess what its original HDD capacity was (ranging from 4 GB to 60 GB).
    To find out what Mac OS X version you run, click :apple: > About This Mac:
    [​IMG]
    To find out, what exact Mac model you use, click :apple: > About This Mac > More Info > Hardware Overview:
    [​IMG]
    To see a more elaborate image explaining the above steps, click here.
    To see a more detailed video tutorial showing the above steps, click here (2 MB, 23s, .mp4).​


    Have you looked at Disk Utility yet to see, how big the HDD is and how big the partition is Mac OS X resides on?

    ____________________________________________________________

    Links to guides on how to use Disk Utility, the application Mac OS X provides for managing internal and external HDD/SSDs and its formats.
    ____________________________________________________________

    To find out, where you hard drive capacity is being used, you can use the following free applications:
    Maybe try a combination of several, if you still can't find the "missing" capacity.


    Btw, "memory" is not the same as "hard drive capacity":
    It is recommended, to have 10 to 20 % of the HDD's capacity unused.




    * iMac <cable> HDD <cable> Canon DV camera​
     
  3. N0k14 D14B10 macrumors newbie

    N0k14 D14B10

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #3
    The best help I can give is vthat you could get a lower resoulution camera at. Walmart for 40$ and instead of useing what little hdd you have and record vin a lower resoulution....
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    That will probably more CPU intensive though, as those cameras probably use some compression (MPEG-2 or MPEG-4) to store the video.
    And what lower resolution is there to get? DV is already 720 x 576 (PAL) or 720 x 480 (NTSC) pixels, 640 x 480 will not be that much lower.
     

Share This Page