Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

al_bert

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 21, 2019
Canada
Hi,

I'm pretty new in Mac word. I just bought a MacbookPro late 2011, with AMD Radeon HD 6770M, what came with Mojave 10.14.3. Everything works fine except the iMove. I read that Mojave actually require Metal capable graphics card, and only with patcher is possible to install the system. I saw an add on internet with the same laptop/OS version, and I asked if iMovie works, and the answer was yes. This means there is a workaround to make it work?
Also an other question. Now I have Mojave 10.14.3, if I want to upgrade to 10.14.6 I have to do from scratch with patcher, cannot be a 'normal' upgrade, right?

Thanks in advance.

BigBoy2018

Suspended
Oct 23, 2018
Hi,

I'm pretty new in Mac word. I just bought a MacbookPro late 2011, with AMD Radeon HD 6770M, what came with Mojave 10.14.3. Everything works fine except the iMove. I read that Mojave actually require Metal capable graphics card, and only with patcher is possible to install the system. I saw an add on internet with the same laptop/OS version, and I asked if iMovie works, and the answer was yes. This means there is a workaround to make it work?
Also an other question. Now I have Mojave 10.14.3, if I want to upgrade to 10.14.6 I have to do from scratch with patcher, cannot be a 'normal' upgrade, right?

Thanks in advance.

As far as iMovie, even if it's OpenGL it would still possibly work in Mojave, since Mojave does still support OpenGL.

As for the update to 10.14.6, just go into system preferences, software update, and the 10.14.6 update should appear.

al_bert

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 21, 2019
Canada